LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 02-01-2019, 10:16 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Ariens 926LE won't throw snow

I have a 7-8 yr old Ariens 926LE. I'm at my wit's end. It's been serviced twice and I'm not sure the quality job they are doing. The machine won't throw snow efficiently. The engine runs great and is at full throttle/power. As far as I can tell the auger and impeller are turning. The auger shear bolts are intact and the auger does not free turn when off. The impeller just won't throw snow. It's like it builds up in the shoot and then just falls out. When off I am able to turn the impeller clockwise but not counter clockwise. Ive checked the roll pins on the axle at the impeller and unless they sheared off inside they are still there (I have limited small engine experience). I'm bringing it to work tomorrow to have a co-worker look at it. Any trouble shooting ideas that anyone has would be greatly appreciated. I'm kind of at a loss.

Also random question, does anyone know which way the impeller should turn as you're look at the auger. I can only spin it clockwise, however if the impeller does indeed spin clockwise the angle of the blades won't throw snow up the shoot. Is it possible that years ago when serviced the impeller was put on backwards?

Sorry if that sounds stupid, I have limited knowledge. Thanks for the help!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 02-01-2019, 10:41 AM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 112
Likes (Given): 13
Likes (Received): 293
You did not mention what kind of snow you are blowing when the machine chokes. Is is wet slop, or dry fluffy?

Check to see if the impeller can be turned easily with the engine off (and spark plug wire off) There may be a roll pin or shear bold in the impeller in addition to the ones. The impeller itself should spin counterclockwise when viewed from the front of the machine.