Wheels Locked Solid (Craftsman 28" / 8HP) - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-20-2019, 11:25 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 2
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Wheels Locked Solid (Craftsman 28" / 8HP)

Hi all. This Craftsman 28" 8 horse came to me this week after sitting idle for 4 years.
Did all the fuel & carb stuff and it starts & runs just fine.
HOWEVER
I took 'er for a test drive and made it about 10 feet before the wheels stopped rolling - locked solid & had to drag it back into the garage.
I have a 10 horse blower that is nearly identical so I was comparing one to the other, trying to spot any glaring differences. First thing I noticed was that when I engaged the drive there was almost no movement at the lever at the bottom of the cable.
Took the bottom plate off and spotted something that *looks* off.



Not the best photo, I know. It looks like the rightmost sprocket/chain is resting at a weird angle, kinda toeing in at the top.
Before I pull the whole thing apart, has anyone any comments, pro tips or similar experiences?
Thanks in advance.

(Craftsman Model 71-52538-5)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191120_174519028.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	172.1 KB
ID:	159397  
needle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 11-21-2019, 12:13 AM
Senior Member
 
ST1100A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Northeast, Easton, Pa
Posts: 808
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 201
Thanks (Received): 126
Likes (Given): 413
Likes (Received): 266
That chain might have jumped off its sprocket and jammed itself. Tip it up on end, bucket down after you shut off the fuel line and drain the carb or run it dry with the fuel off before tipping it.
Then remove the cover to inspect everything. It looks like the chain jumped off the sprocket, which is common when they stretch and get out of adjustment.
Some chains have tensioners that can be adjusted, some you have to move/adjust a shaft for tension, some have no adjustment at all, then you replave the worn out chain.
Most people either never oil the chain, or they use the wrong type of lube for a chain.
You want to use a good motorcycle chain lubricant that wont fling off the chain, it dries to a "tacky" touch and it is usually available in an aerosol can, a spray lube.
Also check all of your different axle and shaft bushings/bearings for wear and play, and check the friction drive rubber wheel/tire for wear, a common wear item.
ST1100A is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks needle thanked for this post
post #3 of 8 Old 11-21-2019, 07:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Walpole MA
Posts: 463
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 20
Thanks (Received): 56
Likes (Given): 78
Likes (Received): 115
There's a weld that breaks DEEP inside that transmission. It holds many of the components in alignment. When the weld/s break, it causes the gears to go out of parallel and crashes the chains. locks up the wheels and Bows the chassis out.......As it looks like in your pix. They can be repaired, although its a fairly involved job. Every piece has to come out of the transmission housing. The housing needs to clamped perfectly flat to a welding table and the old welds ground down and re-welded. I'v done a few of them. It's a labor of Love, since it's so involved.

GLuck. Jay
JayzAuto1 is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks needle thanked for this post
post #4 of 8 Old 11-21-2019, 03:17 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,837
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 587
Thanks (Received): 769
Likes (Given): 4352
Likes (Received): 1734
Garage
to SBF needle

If the wheels locked up and you literally dragged it back to the garage without the wheels turning it's very likely the chain jammed or a bearing/bushing is so badly worn on a shaft that's it's allowing a gear to jam. Off the top of my head I can't think of anything else that would lock them up.
Might have to drain some gas and then tip it up into the service position and pull the bottom plate to get a good look in there. Lay down a little cardboard just in case it leaks a little oil. Some of mine do when they're up like that.
Your picture looks more like it's taken through the belt cover opening.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	snowblower service position.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	101.6 KB
ID:	159427  

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Kiss4aFrog; 11-21-2019 at 04:33 PM.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-21-2019, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
oneacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,658
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 149
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 540
@Kiss,

Nice warehouse …. wish I had that kind of space …
oneacer is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-21-2019, 04:36 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,837
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 587
Thanks (Received): 769
Likes (Given): 4352
Likes (Received): 1734
Garage
Me too. I barely have room to move through my 2.5 garage much less get a car in there. I have way too much junk and too many projects.
I'm thinking that might be the Ariens manufacturing plant in WI. (I stole the photo off the web)

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-21-2019, 04:38 PM
Senior Member
 
oneacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,658
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 149
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 540
Ahhhh …

I thought you were just one lucky rich individual ,,,
oneacer is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Kiss4aFrog liked this post
post #8 of 8 Old 11-21-2019, 05:31 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 2
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Thanks for the replies, guys. I have a lot to look forward to once I get some time to tackle this.

Quote:
Your picture looks more like it's taken through the belt cover opening.
Ha, yeah. I did take the bottom plate off but it was too dark under there & the camera wouldn't focus.
needle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome