Electrical/stator issue on Briggs snowblower - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-18-2020, 06:06 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Electrical/stator issue on Briggs snowblower

I have a 2 stage briggs snow blower (Briggs engine) with headlight, heated grips and power chute controls. All worked fine but now I have no power at all. Blower starts fine but I have no voltage coming from the stator wire (single wire with green connector). Not sure if I tested it correctly. I took my multimeter on AC volts, put red lead on wire from stator and grounded the black lead to the engine. Got no voltage reading at all. I removed the stator today to examine it thinking I'd find some obvious burning but stator looks brand new and wire lead has no kinks or cuts. Is there a way to bench test the stator to see if it is good? Ive replaced stators on lawnmowers that were obviously burned up but this one looks perfect. The unit also has a voltage regulator though I have not tested that yet as I wasnt getting voltage going to it from the stator.

Any help is appreciate.
kingcheez is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Fat City thanked for this post
Likes Fat City liked this post
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-18-2020, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Albany, New York
Posts: 1,741
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 231
Thanks (Received): 199
Likes (Given): 2045
Likes (Received): 517
welcome @kingcheez!

year of engine?

How many wires are coming off of your stator?

what color are the wires and connector(s)?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('89 Toro 824)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('70 Allis-Chalmers Tracker-7)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('80 Toro 724)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('71 Ariens 910965 SnoThro 524)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('87 Toro 38150 826)
classiccat is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Fat City thanked for this post
Likes Fat City liked this post
post #3 of 8 Old 02-18-2020, 08:13 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Clearwater, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 20
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 3
Likes (Given): 11
Likes (Received): 4
Why AC volts, would think that it would be DC voltage???
Johnny G1 is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Fat City thanked for this post
Likes Fat City liked this post
post #4 of 8 Old 02-18-2020, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Albany, New York
Posts: 1,741
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 231
Thanks (Received): 199
Likes (Given): 2045
Likes (Received): 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny G1 View Post
Why AC volts, would think that it would be DC voltage???
Stators produce alternating current.

Briggs and Stratton will add a single diode to some stator outputs (which blocks the negative half of the sine wave) and calls that mess DC.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('89 Toro 824)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('70 Allis-Chalmers Tracker-7)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('80 Toro 724)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('71 Ariens 910965 SnoThro 524)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('87 Toro 38150 826)
classiccat is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Johnny G1 liked this post
post #5 of 8 Old 02-18-2020, 11:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Posts: 1,382
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 48
Thanks (Received): 248
Likes (Given): 145
Likes (Received): 500
Look on pages 10 & 16 of the B&S Engine Alternator Repower Guide: https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...5F0_duuksKI8Sm
Looks like the green connector would indicate 9 or 10 Amps of AC.
tabora is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 2 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Fat City thanked for this post
Likes Johnny G1, Fat City liked this post
post #6 of 8 Old 02-19-2020, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Gettysburg, Penna
Posts: 427
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 28
Likes (Given): 143
Likes (Received): 57
Garage
Throwing out the welcome mat for your first post!!!
Welcome from the Burg!

Perpetual optimism is a force multiplier!!
2019 Ariens Compact 24...
2013 Craftsman 22" 179cc better than shoveling
XM -1000, galvanized steel Shovel with gator grip tape....
Big Bad Kubota as a backup by neighbor.....
penna stogey is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-19-2020, 08:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Weedsport, NY
Posts: 63
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 2
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 22
Look very close for ANY corrosion. I have had Kohler stators with just a green dot that was a wire broken by corrosion, that's all it takes.

If I can't fix it, I can screw it up so bad that no one else can either!
Greg13 is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Fat City thanked for this post
Likes Fat City liked this post
post #8 of 8 Old 02-19-2020, 10:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 87
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 197
Thanks (Received): 6
Likes (Given): 197
Likes (Received): 10
I test stators with a tractor headlight [ old school filament style ] which will light if either AC or DC is present when engine is running .
Fat City is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome