LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-18-2014, 09:01 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
leaking gas not sure from where

So I got a non-running Ariens 924040 that had been sitting for years. The fuel line was disintegrated and the carb varnished. I got a carb rebuild kit and new fuel hose and /cleaned/rebuilt it and put it back together.

Added some gas and some seafoam and was so proud of myself that it started. I've never done this before. It ran rough, blew some flames out the muffler, then seemed to smooth out. I stopped it with the intent of coming back in a little bit and change the oil.

I came out to work on it and there was a big puddle of gas under the blower. It wasn't coming out at the tank, or fuel shutoff valve, or out of the bottom of the carb, or primer hose. It didn't seem to be coming out at the inlet into the carb.

As near as I can tell it looked to be dripping from the inside of the blower body and dripping out at the bottom left corner of the underside.

Could I have put a hole into the new fuel line while I was routing it through the engine? Could it be something worse,like in the engine?

How should I trouble shoot this. It is ok to start up again?

------------------
Edit:

So I took the fuel line out and found a huge gash in it that had worn all the way through. There was a second gash that was close to going through. Clearly, I routed the line too close to some spinning parts. If there is a way to do it wrong I can find it. Ok, back to the dealer. They must get such a kick when they see me walk through the door.

So now question is how do I route the gas line right this time? I'll post a picture of the gash when it uploads to flickr.

Do I have to route the gas line through the shroud? Can it go on the outside of the engine to the carb?

Last edited by ashwinearl; 09-18-2014 at 10:36 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 09-18-2014, 09:11 PM