LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 Old 11-11-2014, 06:25 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Smile Toro 3650 & JD TRS 21 Questions

Hi all! I am new to small engines and snow blowers but am very familiar with forums and Hondas! I was hoping all you great people could assist me!

I bought a John Deere TRS 21 (1993) snow blower from a guy for $90 and then replaced the belt, plug, and fuel filter which I got from John Deere for another $26. The thing runs great, has electric start but there are 2 issues. The blades spin most of the time (I have adjusted the cable to no avail) and in order for the chute to turn left while cranking you either have to push down on the body of the blower or lift the snow blower up by pressing down on the handle.

I also bought a 6.5 hp Toro 3650 (2001) from another guy for $25 who said it ran great but needed a new fuel tank because it was leaking and the primer lever has to be taped down otherwise it will vibrate to full choke. I do believe the guy. I got home and couldn't get it to start. I then went to Toro and got a new priming bulb, gas tank, and an E3 plug for a total of like $70. I replaced everything, gapped the plug, and it started up. Tonight I had a hard time starting it and when it did, it eventually died on me. So for quite awhile I tried to get the think to start and it did a couple times but then died. After awhile of pulling the pull string won't retract. grrrrr.

The fuel was fresh in both and I used a "Premium 2 stroke oil" from Lowes that works on pretty much any ratio.

So now, I think I am going to sell both and buy a brand new one. However, as you can tell, I don't want to spend anymore money on these snowblowers at all since new ones are quite expensive.

What do you think I could get for each snowblower? Is it easy to fix the cable on the Toro?

Thanks! I'll check back in later tonight!

Last edited by 19accord98; 11-11-2014 at 06:30 PM.