Snapper I5240 Auger brake - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-12-2014, 08:05 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Snapper I5240 Auger brake

My Snapper I5240 has an auger that wont stop when the handle is released.

I have installed a new rubber brake, adjusted belts pulleys and activation springs. This has failed to solve the problem. Since it"s a safety issue I'd like to have it solved before the first snowfall.
Bush8989 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-12-2014, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,102
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 342
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1117
you might have the wrong size belt on there. where did you get the belt from????? it has to be fractional HP. not from a auto store. ALOHA to the forms..

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
POWERSHIFT93 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-13-2014, 05:33 AM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
Either the belt is too tight from an adjustment or maybe the engine pulley has a little bit of rust on it catching the belt.

Please direct all snow blower questions to the forums and not to me with PMs.
Shryp is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-13-2014, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,102
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 342
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1117
take a video so I can see what is going on in there.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
POWERSHIFT93 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-14-2014, 10:48 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Here is the video
Note, the auger was moving during the whole video. The tension pulley is adjusted to the stop on the loose side (away from the belt)

After reading some of the replies, I think I have the answer but I don't want to bias your view so I'll keep it to myself for now.
Bush8989 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-14-2014, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
CarlB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 695
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 29
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bush8989 View Post
Here is the video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YjMG...ature=youtu.be Note, the auger was moving during the whole video. The tension pulley is adjusted to the stop on the loose side (away from the belt)

After reading some of the replies, I think I have the answer but I don't want to bias your view so I'll keep it to myself for now.
Either the belt is too small or your idler pulley is not fully retracting. The idler pulley should not be under the engine pulley when the auger is disengaged. Make sure the springs that pull the idler back are correct and that there is no binding. Also make sure there is slack in the auger engagement cable when disengaged, if there is no slack in the cable it will cause the auger to not disengage. Try disconnecting the auger engagement cable or rod from the engagement handle. Check the manual for the correct belt size and get a new belt. You may have to re-adjust the idler with a new belt. it should be 1/2" x 35" as far as i can tell.

Last edited by CarlB; 12-14-2014 at 12:09 PM.
CarlB is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-14-2014, 03:10 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
I'm Thinking I somehow have the wrong belt. Would this be the one?
http://www.snapperpartsdistributors....518%2F01380031
Bush8989 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-14-2014, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,102
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 342
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bush8989 View Post
I'm Thinking I somehow have the wrong belt. Would this be the one?
View Cart
is that not what I said from the get go. that belt should have slop in it when disengaged from the idler pulley.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
POWERSHIFT93 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-15-2014, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
CarlB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 695
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 29
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 66
just get a 1/2 inch x 35 inch belt. That is the correct size. here is a link to a kevlar belt for less than 5.00 plus shipping. Since you have to pay shipping anyway i would get a spare. A33K - A-SECTION KEVLAR (K-PLUS) V-BELT
CarlB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome