LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 Old 12-18-2014, 01:15 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Tech H60 no spark after reassembly

I just completed replacing the connecting rod in my H60 motor. It's my first time opening a motor....you might call me a youtube mechanic. As far as I can tell, everything went back together correctly. No parts left over. I lined up the timing marks, etc. In the youtube video, the guy removed the crankshaft and removed the piston from the bottom. His reasoning was to save replacing a head gasket if he went in from the top. I hammered a bit on the flywheel before coming to the conclusion that replacing a three dollar gasket was going to be a lot easier than fighting with the flywheel.

So the motor is back on the snowblower, and I just tried to fire it up. It won't start, and the problem appears to be lack of spark. I tested this by removing the plug and holding it against the engine block while engaging the electric start. So now I'm wondering if I reassembled something incorrectly, or possibly damaged something while hammering on the flywheel. Or maybe the old plug wire didn't like being jostled around on the bench.

I'd appreciate any advice on how to proceed/troubleshoot this....hopefully starting with the least invasive.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 Old 12-18-2014, 01:28 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 140
Thanks (Received): 274
Likes (Given): 377
Likes (Received): 923
Did you gap the points correctly? Magnets ok inside the flywheel? Do you maybe have the kill switch improperly wired? Do you have the key in the slot? Start with the simplest thing and go from there. That wojld be working backwards from what I just posted.

Joe

Sent from my junky old Hisense 7" tablet that I can barely see.
Toro 724
Toro CCR 3650E
Toro 5/21 sold
Ariens 5/22 ss ..Sold
Ariens Sno Tek 7/24 sold.
Old green plastic snow shovel... Sent.to shovel Heaven