Does my snowblower lighting coil put out AC or DC power? - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 12-27-2014, 02:51 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 9
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Does my snowblower lighting coil put out AC or DC power?

I have recently re-engine my 1970's Ariens 10/32" with a 15 hp engine from princess Auto (Canada's harbor freight) 15 HP 420cc OHV Winter Gas Engine | Princess Auto

I want to add a light to it, but I'm not sure what kind of power I am dealing with? From what I have read, it appears most snowblower engines put out AC power. The lighting connector coming from the engine has two wires on it. There is a tag on the two wires coming off the engine and it says:

"DC:36W/12V
AC:60W/12V"

I checked it with my multimeter while it was running at full RPM and my meter showed 42V on the AC setting and 19V when switched to the DC setting on the multimeter.

Is this AC or DC power coming off this engine?

Last edited by Holeshot weapon; 12-27-2014 at 02:54 AM.
Holeshot weapon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 12-27-2014, 06:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Massachusetts and Maine
Posts: 792
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 27
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 42
Holeshot
If you have a lighting connector coming from your engine, it is AC. The coil puts out DC for the spark plug, but a small "alternator" assembly provides AC for lighting and other accessories on some engines. MH

1960 Ariens 45-10M
1961 Ariens 10M55
1977 Ariens 22000
1972 Ariens 10000
1990 Ariens ST724
1987 Toro 724
Murray Ultra 522
MTD Single stage
8 hp MTD hybrid plow
motorhead64 is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 12-27-2014, 08:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 78
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
I would think it has both, AC & DC volts out....Best to use the ac with higher wattage for the lamp...or use LED lamps..The DC output would be for charging a lead acid battery if it were aboard....This is just my thoughts,,, as I do not own one..
suspicionofignorance2 is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 12-27-2014, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Normex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Near Ottawa Ont
Posts: 1,371
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 52
Thanks (Received): 85
Likes (Given): 27
Likes (Received): 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holeshot weapon View Post
There is a tag on the two wires coming off the engine and it says:

"DC:36W/12V
AC:60W/12V"

I checked it with my multimeter while it was running at full RPM and my meter showed 42V on the AC setting and 19V when switched to the DC setting on the multimeter.

Is this AC or DC power coming off this engine?
It is very odd that you read DC and AC from the same wire?
Normally one wire would be DC only and AC only on the other.
Nevertheless the voltage is way too high if you want to run LED as is.
Does it show (in manual) having a voltage regulator?
If you still want to add Led light better check this thread:
https://www.snowblowerforum.com/forum...ed-lights.html

Your AC is suited for hand warmers.
Good Luck

Snow Removal Apparatus I own:
Ariens ST1530DLE, and good ole arm powered scrapper.
The 15 HP is a new Ducar engine sold
by Princess Auto in Canada.
Normex is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 12-27-2014, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 9
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
  • Quote:
    Originally Posted by Normex View Post
    It is very odd that you read DC and AC from the same wire?
    Normally one wire would be DC only and AC only on the other.
    Nevertheless the voltage is way too high if you want to run LED as is.
    Does it show (in manual) having a voltage regulator?
    If you still want to add Led light better check this thread:
    https://www.snowblowerforum.com/forum...ed-lights.html

    Your AC is suited for hand warmers.
    Good Luck
    I gave princess a call and they say it is a 12v DC output for the light. The engine manual doesn't mention anything about adding a voltage regulator, but it appears I will probably need one if I am getting 19 volts DC?
Holeshot weapon is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 12-27-2014, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
superedge88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Stillwater, MN
Posts: 604
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 20
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 12
You have a lot of options for led lighting, no voltage regulator needed with 19v DC. A lot of led lighting will handle up to about 30ish volts.
superedge88 is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 12-27-2014, 04:46 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 9
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by superedge88 View Post
You have a lot of options for led lighting, no voltage regulator needed with 19v DC. A lot of led lighting will handle up to about 30ish volts.
Sweet!
Holeshot weapon is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 12-27-2014, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
classiccat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Albany, New York
Posts: 1,552
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 177
Thanks (Received): 156
Likes (Given): 1636
Likes (Received): 381
it's probably crappy DC...1/2 rectified...maybe a cap added to smooth things out a bit. basic multimeters aren't designed to measure the output accurately.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('72 Sears 3520)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('89 Toro 824)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('70 Allis-Chalmers Tracker-7)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('80 Toro 724)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('95 Ariens ST724) --> Sold

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
('71 Ariens 910965 SnoThro 524)
classiccat is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 12-27-2014, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
scrappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 537
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 39
Likes (Given): 36
Likes (Received): 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by classiccat View Post
it's probably crappy DC...1/2 rectified...maybe a cap added to smooth things out a bit. basic multimeters aren't designed to measure the output accurately.
+1 must be crap DC. Best way to check is with a scope if available. Or add a rectifier bridge.

KBP201G: 2A 100V Silicon Bridge Rectifier Diode: Diodes.
scrappy is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 12-27-2014, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Normex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Near Ottawa Ont
Posts: 1,371
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 52
Thanks (Received): 85
Likes (Given): 27
Likes (Received): 82
Agree with above, I had DC and AC and the DC side had dirty voltage and cost me a $50.00 LED light, lesson learned.

Snow Removal Apparatus I own:
Ariens ST1530DLE, and good ole arm powered scrapper.
The 15 HP is a new Ducar engine sold
by Princess Auto in Canada.
Normex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome