post #1 of 8 Old 01-07-2015, 10:06 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Snowblower Maintenance Question

Good day, All.

My mother-in-law gave me an old snowblower (Craftsman 11.0 / 30) that had been sitting in the shed for around 8 years (after my father-in-law passed). It wouldn't start for me, but the electric starter was trying to crank the engine. I tried changing the plug, and putting in new gas. Now the electric starter won't work. So, I tried the pull start, but still no luck getting it started. I imagine the carb is dirty and needs cleaning. As I have never done this before, I was wondering if there is anything else I could try. Is it worth getting fixed? (not sure how much it would cost) Is anyone from the Manotick / Ottawa area that knows how much $$ I'd be looking at to get it repaired?

Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 01-07-2015, 10:23 AM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 213
Thanks (Received): 293
Likes (Given): 1645
Likes (Received): 581
hello hillbma, welcome to SBF!! a carb cleaning or rebuild should be on your to do list if you plan to keep the craftsman. donnyboy has several youtube vids that can be very helpful with your project

current machines
1-toro2450E-38419. 1-toro3000E-38435. 1-toro 3650E-38445
2-toro 521E-38052. 1-toro xl824pt 38086
1-.............,TORO XL 624ps..............
1-............, TORO XL 824ps..............
william
post #3 of 8 Old 01-07-2015, 10:37 AM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 349
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1145
better check that crank case oil. it is more than likely tar/sludge in there now. ALOHA from the frozen TUNDRA.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.