engine swap...headlight question.... - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-12-2015, 06:11 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 19
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
engine swap...headlight question....

just put a briggs 2100 snow series(ariens version) onto my white 45" snowboss blower....the stock headlight has one wire running to it and the briggs has 2 wires coming out with a dual wire plug....I had it engine up taking a wire and putting it to the single wire from the stock headlight and into each opening of the briggs and neither lit up the headlight.....what I am doing wrong and what do I need to do to make it work? thanks
let me know if u need any more info
800screws is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-12-2015, 06:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 3,175
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 142
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 291
One is going to be your power, and the other your power. I can't tell you which is which, but if you have a multi-meter, you may able to narrow things down.

Garage:
MTD....2 stage(modern 8.5 HP) not my favorite
Honda HS622 TA-B - acquired at an auction- nice machine for it's size.
Toro S-140- Picked it up on trash day... it runs, sort of.
Yamaha YS 240 TB "Ricky" latest Craigslist find- on the bench now.
db9938 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-12-2015, 06:52 PM
Senior Member
 
superedge88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Stillwater, MN
Posts: 604
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 21
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by 800screws View Post
just put a briggs 2100 snow series(ariens version) onto my white 45" snowboss blower....the stock headlight has one wire running to it and the briggs has 2 wires coming out with a dual wire plug....I had it engine up taking a wire and putting it to the single wire from the stock headlight and into each opening of the briggs and neither lit up the headlight.....what I am doing wrong and what do I need to do to make it work? thanks
let me know if u need any more info
Testing the wires takes no time at all and takes any guess work out of it. But my guess is that you don't ground your light to the engine/frame with this new motor, but instead get both sides of your AC lighting circuit from the two wires.

Snowblowers I own.
Honda HS928
Honda HS621
superedge88 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 01-12-2015, 07:21 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 19
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
ah ok...so u need both wires to get your 120...I checked them with a voltmeter and didn't get anything out of them...so if that's the case do I need a new light as it only has one wire going to it...I cant imagine u can twist the two coming out of the engine together! lol....
800screws is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-12-2015, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
superedge88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Stillwater, MN
Posts: 604
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 21
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by 800screws View Post
ah ok...so u need both wires to get your 120...I checked them with a voltmeter and didn't get anything out of them...so if that's the case do I need a new light as it only has one wire going to it...I cant imagine u can twist the two coming out of the engine together! lol....
You tested the wires together and got nothing?
You won't get 120 from them, more like ~12-20 volts, most likely AC.

Snowblowers I own.
Honda HS928
Honda HS621
superedge88 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-12-2015, 07:38 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 19
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
I think I did each one individually and to ground....ill check both together.....whats the solution to get it to work with the one wire out of the stock headlight? or do I need to replace it?
800screws is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-14-2015, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Grandville, MI
Posts: 400
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 41
Garage
You could get a set of cheap fog lights from Auto Zone that have a similar wiring set up, and are probably about the same size and out put
topher5150 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-18-2015, 11:07 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 19
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
well...I bought one of those universal light kits from amazon....it has only one wire running to it also.........both wires coming out of the engine are power...together I get like 6 volts at idle....
what the heck light do I need?
800screws is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome