Engine swap - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 02-08-2015, 08:57 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: White Plains NY 10603
Posts: 113
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 9
Likes (Given): 37
Likes (Received): 14
Engine swap

Hi all, I have a Deutz-Allis 828 ,was having carb problems just ordered a replacement but have been looking at replacement engines as a backup. I see some of the engines are sold with no throttle control ,a seller says mount,pull cord and blow snow. Some of these are the Briggs and Stratton snow series engines I saw some of these engines on lawnenginesurplus.com , would they work? Thanks Kensico
Kensico is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 02-08-2015, 09:07 AM
Retired Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,160
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 197
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 251
Just measure the important things of your engine and then look at the diagrams of the replacement engines. It would be best to get something with the same crankshaft diameter, height and length as well as the same mounting pattern where it bolts on the tractor. The new OHV engines tend to be a little wider than the flat heads so you might run into issues on the left side of your blower if your crank handle goes through there.

Please direct all snow blower questions to the forums and not to me with PMs.
Shryp is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Kensico thanked for this post
post #3 of 23 Old 02-08-2015, 09:15 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: White Plains NY 10603
Posts: 113
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 9
Likes (Given): 37
Likes (Received): 14
Thanks for quick reply I am trying to find diagrams for my engine now regarding mounting holes I have a tecumseh hm80-155209K engine on it the LH358XA with 3/4" shaft looks like it will fit,e-mailed the seller it is a fixed speed motor with no throttle and was wondering about that part the no throttle.
Kensico is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 02-08-2015, 09:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 125
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 15
Thanks (Received): 9
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 14
Personally, I wouldn't want an engine without a throttle. I like to idle down sometimes without shutting the engine off. However, that's how a lot of machines are now - full throttle only. It's your call.

Craftsman 5/22 with impeller mod & poly skids,
Ariens 28+ Deluxe 921037 AX291
Dave C is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Kensico thanked for this post
post #5 of 23 Old 02-08-2015, 09:41 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: White Plains NY 10603
Posts: 113
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 9
Likes (Given): 37
Likes (Received): 14
Yeah I'm worried about throwing a rod if it's at full throttle all the time.
Kensico is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 02-08-2015, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,602
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 508
Thanks (Received): 380
Likes (Given): 291
Likes (Received): 1378
YA sure the BRIGGS will work just fine. you can still find some with the throttle on the engine it self.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
POWERSHIFT93 is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Kensico thanked for this post
post #7 of 23 Old 02-08-2015, 09:54 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: White Plains NY 10603
Posts: 113
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 9
Likes (Given): 37
Likes (Received): 14
I saw a new 10hp tecumseh on Ebay for only $179 good deal but it has no throttle
Kensico is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 02-08-2015, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,602
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 508
Thanks (Received): 380
Likes (Given): 291
Likes (Received): 1378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kensico View Post
I saw a new 10hp tecumseh on Ebay for only $179 good deal but it has no throttle
step away from the ads. you do not want to go that route. YA FOR SURE.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
POWERSHIFT93 is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 02-08-2015, 10:00 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: White Plains NY 10603
Posts: 113
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 9
Likes (Given): 37
Likes (Received): 14
Yeah gonna check out some engine sites,Thnx
Kensico is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 02-08-2015, 08:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 75
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 10
Thanks (Received): 4
Likes (Given): 3
Likes (Received): 1
Not sure if you are firm on a winter engine, but a lot of people (including myself) have repowered with the Harbor Freight Predator engines. They do the job, and the 6.5 hp motor has plenty of power and is incredibly affordable at $99 with a coupon.
Saewoody is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome