electrical schematic for MTD 31AH5C3F401 yardman blower? - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-19-2015, 05:54 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
electrical schematic for MTD 31AH5C3F401 yardman blower?

have a yardman 26" 8.5 hp blower with electric motor chute control. the chute stopped moving, and I can power it with an external 12V battery, but NOT thru the toggle switch on the control handle area.

I am trying to trace out the wiring, but it is very confusing, especially with the snow blowing around me! does anyone have a schematic? it looks like there is an open circuit somewhere in my wiring harness. As I toggle the chute control, the 12V dc power drops to 3.1 V dc at the toggle switch terminals.

It looks like there might be a series diode in the wiring harness as it starts from the 4 pin connector down near the engine. also, there is a tiny black box attached to the wiring harness....what is that thing? a relay?

MTD was of not help.
spanz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 02-19-2015, 10:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New Lenox
Posts: 2,199
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 276
Thanks (Received): 330
Likes (Given): 3356
Likes (Received): 679
Hello and welcome to the forum spanz. Here is a link to the medium frame MTD snow blower manual. The last page of the manual has an electrical schematic that MIGHT help with your problem. It does show a relay and four diodes you will have to check. I hope this helps.

http://service.mtdproducts.com/Train...owthrowers.pdf

Toro 8/24 (38080) 1989
Toro 721-QZR (38743) 2015 (Hemi Predator Power)
Toro (51984) Hand Held Blower (For the light stuff)

Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Grunt is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks dbert thanked for this post
post #3 of 7 Old 02-20-2015, 11:41 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
thanks that was helpful, although not exactly what I have. Did not consider it might be an ac ALTERNATOR! I am pulling the whole harness out to work on it on a benchtop. that should get it solved.
spanz is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 02-20-2015, 12:58 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,857
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 590
Thanks (Received): 770
Likes (Given): 4371
Likes (Received): 1743
Garage
Maybe not, sorry.

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Kiss4aFrog; 02-20-2015 at 01:08 PM.
Kiss4aFrog is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-21-2015, 09:00 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
ok, here is what I did.

buzzed out the whole system. seems to work with the chute motor not installed, but hooked up.
installed the chute motor, chute does not budge
removed chute motor, replaced with Napa Parts 49-7122 window lift motor (had to tap two of the holes for a 5/16-18 thread).
new chute motor worked when not attached to frame.
new chute motor would not turn when installed in the frame and chute gear engaged.

I deduced that there was a high resistance SOMEWHERE in the harness.
finally gave up on the harness, with 15F and blowing snow all around me.
Cut harness just above the 4 pin molex connector.
there WAS some sort of device mounted right at the connector....either a zener diode (to drop the voltage) or a regular diode???
Hard wired up my own replacement harness to only power the motor and lamp without the diode in the way.
Motor turned...even when hooked to the frame. motor seemed much faster (maybe the diode WAS a zener to drop some excess voltage).
BUT, since the DC motor turned without a diode in the system, it must be a DC alternator output.
After a few tries the lamp burned out...must be higher voltage now. but since the motor is tougher, and easily replaced....I will keep IT on the higher voltage. It no longer sticks in the full clockwise position, like it used to.

NOTE: I luckily had a DPDT ON-OFF-ON toggle switch available, so I used a new switch in case the switch was hinky.

it appears there IS a relay in the harness, but seems to only power the heated hand grips. one of the reasons to NOT rewire with the heated handgrips.

Will replace the lamp and add a dropping resistor, value TBD, later on today.

ALL I lost was the heated handles, which I really did not like anyway.

If I was not in a hurry, AND if I did not want to pay an exorbitant fee, I see you CAN buy a replacement wire harness from MTD. I think it was $91. THAT would fix the diode if it was soft.

So, in conclusion, it was either the diode, the joystick switch, or a high resistance somewhere in the harness.

Last edited by spanz; 02-21-2015 at 09:03 AM.
spanz is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-21-2015, 10:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 333
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 21
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 55
May be a blown fuse. The fuse is under handle panel near switch connector.
Replace with 5A fuse.

2014 Ariens 24" Platinum
2010 Yard Machines 600 Series, 24" w/179cc MTD engine
Toro CCR 3650 GTS
Troy Bilt 521OR w/Tecu HSSK50 engine
enigma-2 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-01-2015, 07:38 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by enigma-2 View Post
May be a blown fuse. The fuse is under handle panel near switch connector.
Replace with 5A fuse.

the fuse was good.
spanz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome