jho

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 0
2006 Ariens 624 has no power

Hi all,
I'm new to the forum but have been lurking around getting tons of useful info. I finally bit the bullet and signed up.

A little bit about my background. I used to be a dealership technician but it's been a few years and I'm rusty. Also the diagnostics usually was aided by computers so I'll need a little help on this one.

I picked up a clean Ariens 624 (the one with the ugly lawn mower handlebar.

Right off the bat, I noticed it wouldn't fire even with starter fluid. It would occasionally backfire out the carb. I started to focus on ignition. I saw that it had spark but had a short spark plug on. I ran to autozone to get the appropriate long NGK Plus for it and gapped it at .030". Now it starts! Only problem is that it have to run it at full throttle and no choke and even then it only runs at idle speed.

Here's the facts:
Engine: OH195SA
-new spark plug gapped properly and getting spark
-150 psi compression dry at full throttle
-carb jet appear squeaky clean
-no varnish in bowl
-unsure of gas quality
-confirmed throttle plate is opened.
-dies under load
-backfires out the intake (sometimes exhaust also) with starter fluid.
-runs worse with choke
- runs worse with starter fluid after starting
-dies when pushing primer bulb

I assume the compression test eliminates the possibility of valve train/ring problems.

Running worse with choke and starter fluid most likely eliminates a lean condition or vacuum leak.

There is no mixture screw so I can't see why it would be too rich.

Solid state ignition does not appear to have any ability to adjust ignition timing.

If I'm missing anything or if a known issue is present please let me know.

Your input is appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 02-25-2015, 11:51 PM Thread Starter
jho

Post Thanks / Like