Tecumseh HMSK 100 will not idle - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 03-10-2015, 02:13 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Dave9354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 55
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 4
Likes (Given): 4
Likes (Received): 14
Tecumseh HMSK 100 will not idle

I have a Tecumseh hmsk 100 on my noma snowblower. It runs only at high speed no matter where I move the throttle. It will not run at slow speed. Was wondering what is causing this? All the linkages seem to be in correct position. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Dave.
Dave9354 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 03-10-2015, 02:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Wilmington, MA
Posts: 768
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 9
Thanks (Received): 98
Likes (Given): 18
Likes (Received): 260
I'm a little unclear on the question: are you saying it runs fast regardless of whether it's set to fast or slow, or that it dies or runs poorly at low speed?

If it runs fast all the time, something in the throttle linkage may be stuck - can you post a photo of the linkage (there are quite a few different ones)?

If the engine "tries" to slow down but won't stay running or has other problems at low speed, it's most likely the carburetor.

~1994 Ariens 924084 (ST1032) "papa bear": restored, re-engined, real nice!
1991 Ariens 924050 (ST824) "mama bear"
Toro PowerCurve 1800 "baby bear"

Be alert! America needs more lerts.
ELaw is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Kiss4aFrog liked this post
post #3 of 15 Old 03-10-2015, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 121
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 2
Likes (Given): 3
Likes (Received): 4
Buy a carb on ebay/Amazon. About 25-30 bucks.
Pythons37 is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 03-10-2015, 02:31 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Dave9354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 55
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 4
Likes (Given): 4
Likes (Received): 14
It stays running at high speed if I move the throttle to high or low speed. It does not stop running at all. All the linkage to throttle and governor are all moving. Nothing is stuck. Never touched any linkages since I bought machine brand new about 15 years ago. I will see if I can post a picture of linkage.
Dave9354 is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 03-10-2015, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Wilmington, MA
Posts: 768
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 9
Thanks (Received): 98
Likes (Given): 18
Likes (Received): 260
If the actual throttle plate on the carb is moving and the engine speed is not varying, pretty much the only possibility is that the throttle plate inside the carb has come off. That's pretty rare but it does happen.

You should be able to check by (with the engine not running) opening the choke fully, and looking inside the carburetor while moving the throttle plate by hand. You should see the throttle plate opening and closing the passage at the far end of the carb. If all you see is a rotating shaft with a slot and two holes in it, your throttle plate has gone AWOL.

Best bet in that case would be to replace the complete carb, but you also have to figure out where the throttle plate went. If you're lucky it's stuck in the intake manifold or port. If you're less lucky it is inside the cylinder or head or went through the engine.

~1994 Ariens 924084 (ST1032) "papa bear": restored, re-engined, real nice!
1991 Ariens 924050 (ST824) "mama bear"
Toro PowerCurve 1800 "baby bear"

Be alert! America needs more lerts.
ELaw is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 03-10-2015, 02:56 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,137
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 510
Thanks (Received): 681
Likes (Given): 3844
Likes (Received): 1478
Garage
I think if the throttle plate came off and it went full throttle it would have thrown the connecting rod right through the starter.

I'd still check it out with a flashlight to see if you can see a plate and if it's moving.

Pictures of the linkage will be helpful when you have a chance.

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 03-10-2015, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Wilmington, MA
Posts: 768
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 9
Thanks (Received): 98
Likes (Given): 18
Likes (Received): 260
Good point!

Although I can say from personal experience (when I was young and stupid and fooling with engines that cost me around $0) that it is definitely possible to run a Tecumseh (or Briggs) engine at wide open throttle for minutes at a time without ventilating the block.

It's also possible (although even less likely than the throttle plate coming off in the first place) that the plate lodged somewhere where it restricts flow.

Another possibility is that the idle-speed screw is cranked in so far that "idle" is the same as "fast". That's pretty unlikely to happen unintentionally though.

~1994 Ariens 924084 (ST1032) "papa bear": restored, re-engined, real nice!
1991 Ariens 924050 (ST824) "mama bear"
Toro PowerCurve 1800 "baby bear"

Be alert! America needs more lerts.
ELaw is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Kiss4aFrog liked this post
post #8 of 15 Old 03-10-2015, 03:23 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Dave9354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 55
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 4
Likes (Given): 4
Likes (Received): 14
Throttle plate is intact.
Dave9354 is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 03-10-2015, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Coastal NH
Posts: 657
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 30
Thanks (Received): 40
Likes (Given): 27
Likes (Received): 44
On YouTube, Doneyboy73 has a video on how to fix this condition, the cause and remedy, for Tecumseh engines that develope this. It may or may not be this problem, but this is worth a look.


The meltdown is under way ...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


91' Toro Powershift 824/Predator 301cc
05' Toro 3650/ 6.5 RTek
Pathfinder13 is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Grunt liked this post
post #10 of 15 Old 03-10-2015, 05:19 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Dave9354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 55
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 4
Likes (Given): 4
Likes (Received): 14
Thanks for the video pathfinder13. My throttle plate is a little loose, not as much as the video. I will try the fix tomorrow and let you know if that was the problem.
Dave9354 is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Kiss4aFrog liked this post
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome