head torque - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-31-2015, 01:12 PM Thread Starter
AL-
Senior Member
 
AL-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Vermont/Quebec border
Posts: 349
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 7
Thanks (Received): 10
Likes (Given): 4
Likes (Received): 29
head torque

I just loosened up all the head bolts on my B&S 4HP Bobcat. I used my torque wrench and it only took about 25 ft lbs per bolt. My repair manual calls for a re torque of 165 ft . This seems like a big difference?
Although I loosened all of them I will only be needing to remove 3 as I am cleaning and painting the 2 rusted metal shields. Can I use the same head gasket as I am not disturbing other than loosening the bolts?
While I've got this close to removing the head would it be a good time to actually take the head off to clean the carbon, etc. with the valves or should do this later?
The thing is I don't know what shape the motors in, so far all I've done is pour gas in SP hole and fired it up. I've cleaned the gas tank and carburetor and am waiting for new parts , diaphragm and gaskets. I have also ordered a head gasket in case I needed it.
AL- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-31-2015, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
RAYAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: M'cook, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 146
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 5
Likes (Given): 103
Likes (Received): 21
I didn't look it up but 165 ft. lb. seems kind of high to me for a small engine. ???

~Ray~
~1975 Canadiana 1026 Heavy Duty w/light & limited slip differential (& custom exhaust (need to fabricate manifold), customized impeller housing, removable chute in about 5 sec) (currently out of service)

~ Craftsman 8/25 Trac-Drive C950-52671 (mid 80's ???) (current user) (replaced blown engine with original, now in service again)

~ Craftsman 12/32 OHV 71-52112-1 (now in service)

~Noma GP 1028EL (repaired and serviced for daughter to use)
RAYAR is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-31-2015, 01:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Wilmington, MA
Posts: 768
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 9
Thanks (Received): 98
Likes (Given): 18
Likes (Received): 260
Are you sure you're not confusing inch-pounds with foot-pounds?

I don't have a Briggs manual, but the Tecumseh manual spec for head bolt torque says 200 inch-pounds or 16.5 foot-pounds. And those are the same size bolts in a pretty much identical application.

~1994 Ariens 924084 (ST1032) "papa bear": restored, re-engined, real nice!
1991 Ariens 924050 (ST824) "mama bear"
Toro PowerCurve 1800 "baby bear"

Be alert! America needs more lerts.
ELaw is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 03-31-2015, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Ray 1962 10ML60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Long Island
Posts: 581
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 34
Likes (Given): 15
Likes (Received): 23
Al, as others stated its got to be 165 inch pounds. The lug nuts on the wheels of my trailer are only torqued to 95 foot pounds and that goes down the highway. At 165 foot pounds you would be snapping bolts for sure. And I would just pull the rest at this point and put on the new head gasket so you can evenly torque the bolts back in when your done painting.

Ray
1962 Ariens 10ML60
1979 Toro 524
1975 MTD Snowflite 4/22

Last edited by Ray 1962 10ML60; 03-31-2015 at 03:23 PM.
Ray 1962 10ML60 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-31-2015, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Shoreline, CT
Posts: 3,445
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 103
Thanks (Received): 375
Likes (Given): 466
Likes (Received): 477
I as well think the it is being confused with 165 in lbs. For a torque of 165 ft lbs it would have to have 9/16" or larger head bolts (it is impossible for that small engine to have such big bolts).
Maybe this would help: (notice that the head torque values are in In Lbs)
B&S torque chart
YSHSfan is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-31-2015, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Shoreline, CT
Posts: 3,445
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 103
Thanks (Received): 375
Likes (Given): 466
Likes (Received): 477
Since you loosened all the head bolts, I would remove de head, inspect while apart, clean it as needed and if all is good repalce the head gasket and sequentially torque it to its proper value wich is likely to be 165 in lsbs (14 ft lbs).
YSHSfan is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Kiss4aFrog liked this post
post #7 of 9 Old 03-31-2015, 05:30 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,137
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 510
Thanks (Received): 681
Likes (Given): 3844
Likes (Received): 1478
Garage
Do yourself a favor and get a new head gasket. The problem is it's not like a rubber band where you can stretch (compress) it again and it'll hold. It MAY hold but then again it would be easier for it to leak or blow out.
If it's your main or only blower it's so much smarter to just replace.

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-31-2015, 06:45 PM Thread Starter
AL-
Senior Member
 
AL-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Vermont/Quebec border
Posts: 349
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 7
Thanks (Received): 10
Likes (Given): 4
Likes (Received): 29
Well the mystery is solved. My torque wrench is in "ft. lbs." which I noticed and I didn't notice that the service manual was in" in. lbs.". Seemed like a big discrepancy.
When I re read the service manual I also noticed that the 165 in. lbs. was for series 140000 and all other engines is 140 in. lbs. - mine is a series 100000. Need to use an in. lbs. torque wrench. I will use a new gasket.
When I took the head off I saw about a dozen spaced fine vertical scratches around the cylinder wall, most of them were on the opposite side of the intake/outtake ports. There was some carbon caked on the head and bit on the valve areas. I added a photo attachment. I was wondering if the scratches were caused by something, maybe in the oil? Are there ways to clean out the oil chamber before running the engine. Since the gas tank and carberetor are off the engine I could warm it up with a heater and drain out whats in there , but thought there might be some slug left as it been sitting for quite awhile. And thanks much everybody.

Last edited by AL-; 02-13-2016 at 02:18 PM.
AL- is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-31-2015, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Shoreline, CT
Posts: 3,445
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 103
Thanks (Received): 375
Likes (Given): 466
Likes (Received): 477
You don't really need an in lbs torque wrench, you can still use your ft lb torque wrench. All you need to do is convert 140 in lbs into ft lbs, wich comes to be 11.67 ft lbs. You can safely torque them to 12 ft lbs using your ft lb torque wrench.
YSHSfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome