LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 04-03-2015, 06:33 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 7
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 4
Likes (Received): 2
MTD Drive Shaft Assembly - Steerable

Hi. I'm new here after finding the forum while looking for a solution to the problem outlined below. After lurking and searching for a few weeks and not finding much about this issue, here I am posting about it.

I have a MasterCraft (Canadian Tire MTD model) 10.5/30 snowblower thatís about 15 years old. It has the triggers under each handle to assist steering. Just after starting to clear the last big dump we got here a couple of weeks ago, the right wheel locked up. Shifting to reverse it moved then locked again, back to forward it moved and locked... Eventually got it back into the garage and took it apart. I found the snap ring must have let go that holds the drive gear assembly together on the right side. (See Page 27, Figure 3.11 http://service.mtdproducts.com/Train...owthrowers.pdf ). The missing snap ring allowed the assembly to loosen up and the planetary gears (Page 28, Figure 3.13 in above link) chewed up. The ring gear and sun gear donít seem to be too bad.

Great! I thought, no problem. Pick up a few of the little gears, replace the snap ring, and weíre back in business. Went to the dealer and was told I canít buy the planetary gears - or the others for that matter. Apparently you have to buy the whole assembly - drive shaft with both side gear assemblies and sprocket - my part number for it is 618-0303A but apparently that has been replaced now by 618-0575. (I donít know if the planetary gears if these two different assembly numbers are alike but assume the outside casing of the ring gear would have to be the same on both). The dealer here wants $325+tax for 618-0575. US prices arenít much better considering exchange and shipping. I donít want to pay $400 to repair a 15 year old machine.