wiring a headlight - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 05-05-2015, 09:30 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: MASSACHUSETTS
Posts: 61
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 3
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 11
wiring a headlight

Ok So ill post some pics in the next phase...but the engine is mounted and it looks gigantic lol...it looks more like a sidewalk machine than a walk behind...we had to do some welding and fabricating to make her fit, as the bars were hitting...but its on and ready to get some belts..i ordered two new 3inch pulleys for it..
My question is: can i mount a light onto it aftermarket? I looked at the wiring diagram and though i dont have the electric start model, im sure theres a way to do it. If anyone checks the duromax engine wiring schematics or knows what the engine looks like, theres a wire(s) that come out of what looks to be the flywheel or the coil...im wondering if i could start it and just put my voltmeter on each wire and check for voltage..i thought i heard somewhere that the newer engines usually have a spot to tap onto..again its not an electric start, but i dont think that necessarilly means i cant mount a light to it....any help would be awesome...Again ill post up some pics when i get a chance
Thanx
SNOWJOB1125 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 05-05-2015, 10:48 AM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,137
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 510
Thanks (Received): 681
Likes (Given): 3844
Likes (Received): 1478
Garage
The new engines are just like the old engines, some have generation capability and some don't.

Since this is a new post it would be helpful if you described what you are working on.

What duromax engine are we talking about ??
Is it one wire coming out or more and what color is it (are they) ??

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 05-05-2015, 11:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Shoreline, CT
Posts: 3,445
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 103
Thanks (Received): 375
Likes (Given): 466
Likes (Received): 477
My guess is that you don't have 12v output for a light. I think only the Duromax 16HP with an electric start come with that option.
Yes, you could make it work, but you'll likely need a charge coil and flywheel for it.

This is from amazon. com, I do not see a description of a charging system listed.
Product Description

Features
»4 Stroke OHV engine.
»Large 1.75 Gallon Fuel Tank.
»Runs on Standard 87 Octane Gasoline
»Full EPA and CARB Approval.
»Alternate Start System: E-Z Pull Recoil Starter.
»Air Cleaner: Dual, Semi-dry, Oil Bath.
Specifications
»Fuel Tank Capacity: 1.75 Gallons
»Average Run Time: 1/2 Gallon Per Hour (at 1/2 load)
»4 Stroke Design Runs on Gasoline - No Mixing Required
»Engine May have slight alternate cosmetic styling
»EPA & CARB Approved for Safe Mandated Use
»Dry Weight: 77 lbs
Applications
»Go Karts
»Pressure Washers
»Trailer Mounted - Mobile Carwashes.
»Log Splitters
»RotoTillers - Cultivators
»Water/Trash Transfer Pump
»The Possibilities Are Endless With DuroMax!
Technical Specifications
»Displacement: 420cc Bore: 90, Stroke: 66.
»Max Output: 16.0 HP / 3600 RPM.
»Max Torque: 28.5 Nm / 21.0 ft/lb.
»Splashing Lubricating Type System
»Shaft Size: 1" Diameter, 2-3/4" Long, 1/4" Keyway,
»Shaft End is Drilled and Tapped with a 3/8" 24 UNF.
»Dimensions Of Unit: 21" Long x 18" Wide 22" High
»Recommended Fuel Type: Gasoline - 87 Octane Rating Or Better
Shaft Dimensions & Measurements
»Shaft Size: 1" Diameter, 2-3/4" Long, 1/4" Keyway,
»Shaft End is 3/8" Size 24 UNF - Drilled and Tapped
»Measurement from Center of Shaft to Base: 5-Inches
What's In The Box?
»DuroMax XP16HP 16 Horsepower Recoil Start Engine.
»DuroMax Operating & Procedure Manual.

BTW, I think you should continue to post on the original thread until you are done with your project, makes it easier for everyone to know what you are refering to.
YSHSfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome