MTD antique snow blower? - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 10-13-2015, 12:51 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 161
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 6
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 58
Talking MTD antique snow blower?

About to install and new engine on my MTD road side find 5/24 snow blower. Figured since the old trashed engine is off I would install a set of new belts. On the ID tag it is 310 550 000\ 1069B, I think the model number is 310 550 000 I also think it was MFG 10 1969.
Any way can some one help me out on belt sizes? All I can find is a 310 550 0089 and all the belts are a part number with hefty price tag. I did save the old belts so if push comes to shove I can go to a belt dealer maybe.

Al

Last edited by alleyyooper; 10-13-2015 at 01:09 PM.
alleyyooper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 10-13-2015, 01:01 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,137
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 510
Thanks (Received): 681
Likes (Given): 3844
Likes (Received): 1478
Garage
Are you replacing the engine with the same thing ?? Same distance from base to center of crankshaft ?? Same diameter pulley ??

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 10-13-2015, 01:27 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 2,029
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 32
Thanks (Received): 92
Likes (Given): 446
Likes (Received): 148
im assuming a predator is going on
43128 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 10-14-2015, 05:26 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 161
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 6
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 58
Talking

Yes the remains of the old 5hp tec. came off yesterday, the new 212 Predator is all prepped to go back on.
OH NO!!!!!
I never thought to measure the shaft height to see if they are the same.
Cotton picken ELDER MOMENTS come at the darnest times.

Al
alleyyooper is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 10-14-2015, 07:55 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 2,029
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 32
Thanks (Received): 92
Likes (Given): 446
Likes (Received): 148
usually the shaft height on the predator and honda clones is a bit lower then tecumseh and briggs engines
43128 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-14-2015, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Grunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New Lenox
Posts: 1,962
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 239
Thanks (Received): 281
Likes (Given): 2858
Likes (Received): 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by alleyyooper View Post
Any way can some one help me out on belt sizes? All I can find is a 310 550 0089 and all the belts are a part number with hefty price tag. I did save the old belts so if push comes to shove I can go to a belt dealer maybe.
Here is a link to the MTD belt part numbers and it shows the belt size next to them.
Example: MTD part number 00023887 is a 1/2"x48" or typically, 4L480

MTD Belt size, length, width for MTD belts by part number.

Toro 8/24 (38080) 1989
Toro 721-QZR (38743) 2015 (Hemi Predator Power)
Toro 421-E (38585) 2008 (New Owner)
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Grunt is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 10-14-2015, 02:20 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 161
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 6
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 58
Talking

Set the old tec. engine beside the new Predator and laid a level on the shafts. Maybe 1/8 inch difference or could have been a bit of crud under the Tec engine.
Any way got the belts out and took them to TSC and bought two new ones for about $25.00 for the pair. Put them on the one for the wheel drive is a little bit wider but should work just fine.

Got the engine installed and a one pull start, auger and impeller runs fine.Wheels drive works too but I still have two flat tires and am trying to decide if I want two new ones or just tubes but the old tires are weather checked bad.

Al
alleyyooper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome