Tecumseh 5hp carb set-up - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-29-2015, 04:25 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 67
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 4
Tecumseh 5hp carb set-up

Hi all,

Its that time of year again and I'am trying to get my inherited 5hp Tecumseh dialed in for winter. Everything seems great on the machine except I can't seem to get the governor and the throttle dialed in correctly. They have never been right since I got the machine and not really sure where to begin. It had been running fine, except today it over-reved and started spitting out oil out of the breather valve. I shut it down immediately and there seems to be no damage, so this is something I definitely need to address. Everyone here has been such a great resource in the past, so any help or direction would be appreciated.

Dustin
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	carb 2.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	69.1 KB
ID:	64922   Click image for larger version

Name:	carb1.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	36.0 KB
ID:	64930  
dhoyt714 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 11-29-2015, 05:24 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,585
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 158
Likes (Given): 95
Likes (Received): 302
Your linkages are in the right spots in the pics. Don't know if they are on the throttle lever. Your idle speed screw should not be tightened all the way in, (picture number one, screw hammered down against it's spring). That solid linkage is normally straight from gov to butterfly, not a bend in the middle as yours is. The governor is being forced toward the bucket in you pic by the idle screw being tightened to max. Back that out until the gov lever straightens up closer to the carb intake manifold.
jtclays is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Kiss4aFrog thanked for this post
Likes Grunt liked this post
post #3 of 8 Old 11-30-2015, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
bad69cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 1,237
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 88
Likes (Given): 127
Likes (Received): 277
It looks like they changed the hole on the governor link to "adjust" for something anyway...... the top one is probably the correct one, once you get the carb cleaned up and working. I would drop the bowl and look/clean all orifaces and jets, and make sure it's good and the float is level and working. Then try adjusting things out.



bad69cat is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 11-30-2015, 03:24 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 67
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 4
Thanks for the reply. I will have to look at try to re-set the linkage when I get home. I probably would be better off getting a new one, as this one is pretty beat. Thanks again!

Dustin
dhoyt714 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-30-2015, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
scrappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 537
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 39
Likes (Given): 36
Likes (Received): 91
Also make sure the governor gear is working, they are nylon and will crack with age. When running it should try to pull back against spring tension.
scrappy is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-30-2015, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Motor City's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 639
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 44
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 50
The rod should be in the top left hole on the governor lever.




Ariens ST11528LE
Honda HS720
Motor City is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-30-2015, 09:20 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,585
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 158
Likes (Given): 95
Likes (Received): 302
Motor City, you can click ahead to the 4:05 mark and see the linkage again in the same hole as the previous video.[/quote]I got my hands on an older(no idea how old) craftsman smaller unit (22'') for free. The model number is 536 886531 5 hp. I didn't run when I got it but after a half hour and some new gas all it runs and all the functions seem to work.
[/quote] Dustin,is your throttle butterfly free to move as in this video?



Last edited by jtclays; 11-30-2015 at 09:40 PM.
jtclays is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 12-01-2015, 08:57 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 67
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 4
I tried the suggestions in the video and I think that I have it set-up better. At least it looks and feels better. The governor to me still feels like it is pushed to far to the left, but the position that it is in is the only one that feels right. Thanks again!

Dustin
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 1.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	130.4 KB
ID:	65162   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 2.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	123.2 KB
ID:	65170  
dhoyt714 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome