LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 12-08-2015, 05:26 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Tecumseh starter motor questions

Hi all, I have a starter motor from a tecumseh HMSK105 engine.
The engine would not start with the starter, starts fine with the pull cord, so I removed it. The starter runs but doesn't seem to turn the engine over. Running it on the bench the small gear on the starter which engages the flywheel moves into the extended position when the button is pushed but does not remain extended as the motor spins. Is it supposed to remain extended as long as the motor is spinning? I haven't taken it apart yet but I can't smell anything burnt and it seems to spin ok. I've no experience with these starters.

charlie
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 12-08-2015, 05:52 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 508
Thanks (Received): 380
Likes (Given): 291
Likes (Received): 1383
the started gear flys out to the flywheel when the switch is engaged. post a vid of this problem.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
post #3 of 22 Old 12-08-2015, 06:00 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 27
Likes (Received): 42
Hi dualTrace
The starter should remain extended during cranking, and retract when the switch is released. MH

1960 Ariens 45-10M
1961 Ariens 10M55
1977 Ariens 22000
1972 Ariens 10000
1990 Ariens ST724
1987 Toro 724
Murray Ultra 522
MTD Single stage
8 hp MTD hybrid plow
post #4 of 22 Old 12-08-2015, 06:01 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 88
Likes (Given): 127
Likes (Received): 280