Tecumseh ohv sk13hp - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-13-2016, 11:28 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: northern ny
Posts: 6
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Tecumseh ohv sk13hp

I am stumped, I have this engine on a toro 1332 powershift and it will run and quit start back up quit runs good under load,but will quit ,I have cleanef carb replaced needle and seat, coil spark plug .The thing still does it does anyone have any ideas whatelse to check?
Mrfedex40 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-13-2016, 12:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Grunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New Lenox
Posts: 1,956
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 238
Thanks (Received): 280
Likes (Given): 2851
Likes (Received): 527
to SBF Mrfedex. How long does the engine run before it dies, and is it usually about the same amount of time between episodes? You may have a fuel restriction in the gas line slowing fuel to the carb, OR, it may be as simple as a gas cap vent that is faulty. Try loosening the cap and see how the engine behaves. Let us know what happens, and we will continue from there.

Toro 8/24 (38080) 1989
Toro 721-QZR (38743) 2015 (Hemi Predator Power)
Toro 421-E (38585) 2008 (New Owner)
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Grunt is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-13-2016, 12:59 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,137
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 510
Thanks (Received): 681
Likes (Given): 3844
Likes (Received): 1478
Garage
If yours has the fuel shut off like mine you might also want to take that out if the hose will reach to the tank fitting.

Try one thing at a time so you know what is or wasn't the cause.

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Grunt liked this post
post #4 of 6 Old 01-13-2016, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Jackmels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ma.
Posts: 1,992
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 99
Thanks (Received): 156
Likes (Given): 317
Likes (Received): 623
Disconnect everything that is attached to the engine's ignition kill. Something might be grounding the ignition.
Jackmels is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Grunt liked this post
post #5 of 6 Old 01-14-2016, 09:25 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: northern ny
Posts: 6
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Yeah I forgot to tell you guys I replaced all fuel lines,rinsed fuel tank out while I did alm this work.. It even has a newer fuel cap as well .. But I am going to try all the things you fellas said.. As far as it running it fires rite up,I let it warm up and then put the snow to it and canr even make it 50 ft and it will quit while under load. Usually fires rite back up and will go along and hit the end of the driveway stuff and just starts coming into it and will quit again.. .. this carburetor has a fixed main jet .I soaked it in carb cleaner over night and blew all the holes out with air and aresol carb cleaner.. I love blowing snow with the old beast when she stays running, they dont make em like that old girl anymore!!!Thank you guys now for all the ideas..I will report back when I try these things... Take care
Mrfedex40 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-14-2016, 10:15 AM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,137
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 510
Thanks (Received): 681
Likes (Given): 3844
Likes (Received): 1478
Garage
When you go to restart it do you just pull the cord or do you need to choke and or prime it ??

Do you run it with the choke all the way off ??
How about trying it with one click of choke and if it dies try two ??

When you cleaned the carb how did you set the float ??

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Grunt liked this post
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome