LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 01-25-2016, 09:03 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Murray Snow King problems

Hello- I am new to snow blowers but not so new to small engines. I just recently bought a murray snow king 5 hp two stage with a tecumseh lh195sa engine. The problems I'm experiencing are the following:
1. Engine surges or hunts for idle. I have cleaned the carburetor and it made no difference. This carburetor has fixed main jet. I have seen new carb on Amazon for this application for $20. This makes me a little leary of quality when my local small engine shop says it will cost $100.

2. Just used snowblower in major snow storm we had in VA and noticed that it appears there is water/condensation in oil. I've looked over the engine closely and did not see any areas where water could be getting in. The only place I can figure is at the base of the dipstick tube..it unscrews when I unscrew dipstick cap. Could this problem be carburetor?

3. I noticed one time while using snowblower that a lot of oil was blowing out of breather tube when under load. Also I think I had it on incline. I drained and filled with new oil to proper level and checked valve in breather and it was not stuck. I am running 10w30. Should I use lighter oil. I have not experienced problem again.

4. Lastly, and maybe related to carb issue, the exhaust smells rich.

Overall, the machine worked great. It rarely snows here so I would like to fix what I already have. I realize Murray is not top shelf equipment but I got a good deal on it. To many times I've nickeled and dimed trying to fix something and spent enough money to by almost new. Any thoughts /advice on what any of these problems could be and how to fix would be much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 01-25-2016, 09:19 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250