Checking with the RPM Gurus..... - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 02-02-2016, 07:00 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 25
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 11
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 10
Likes (Received): 1
Checking with the RPM Gurus.....

I bought a couple of these as was suggested previously to check the RPMs on my Craftsman #247.88790.

Digital Engine Tach Tachometer Hour Meter Inductive for Motorcycle Motor FC0 | eBay

According to the manual on page 31-32 it lists the Engine as #LA318SA-156554, with everything I have read (various Tecumseh manuals) online it keeps referring to the Tecumseh microfiche page 30 for RPM settings. As it goes that is hidden somewhere inaccessible on the interweb.

Using the above meter I have the following settings on my unit without the adjustable carburetor.

Full throttle (after warmup) 3450rpm
Low throttle (No Load) Idle 1650-1750 rpm

Running thru the gears without using the auger it runs:
1st -3rd gear @ 3200=3300rpms
4th-6th gears @ 3300-3400rpms

Running thru the gears with the auger but NO snow throwing (we have no snow!) it runs:
3400 no matter what gear I put it in

I did not check the RPMs in reverse at all.
It sounds good...No hesitations, No sputtering, No backfiring, No surging.

I am willing and very happy to leave it alone UNLESS the gurus here tell me I have something way out of whack. I don't want to blow this up....

Marc Fish
Capital District area, NY USA

'06 Craftsman (MTD)#247.88790 9hp Tec 28"
2 stage Engine #LA318SA-156554
*****************************************
'95 Craftsman II (???)#536.886360 10hp Tec 30"
2 stage TracPlus (reclaimed)
Opfoto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 02-02-2016, 07:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 697
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 10
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 35
These engines typically top out at 3600 but I like to keep them as low as I can to increase longevity. I think your numbers look OK.

'77 Ariens 924032 "Brick House" Re-Powered with a TEC 10HP and oversize auger pulley
nt40lanman is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Opfoto thanked for this post
Likes Opfoto liked this post
post #3 of 17 Old 02-02-2016, 07:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: nova scotia-south shore - ave annual snowfall 199.4 cm ( 78.5 ")
Posts: 2,335
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 73
Thanks (Received): 157
Likes (Given): 373
Likes (Received): 602
Garage
your "unloaded" rpms look ok to me, plz post back if it snows and you get a chance to see what happens under varying loads.

24 " 1967? Ariens Sno thro
28 " Ariens Sno Tek
Toro CCR ss
1966 Gravely LI Walk behind with dog eater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nwcove is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Opfoto thanked for this post
Likes Opfoto liked this post
post #4 of 17 Old 02-02-2016, 07:26 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,203
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 517
Thanks (Received): 685
Likes (Given): 3898
Likes (Received): 1497
Garage
Your machine, your choice. Here are some vids to see how to go about adjusting it.

https://www.google.com/search?q=dony...ing+high+speed

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Opfoto thanked for this post
Likes Opfoto liked this post
post #5 of 17 Old 02-02-2016, 08:23 PM
pfn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 247
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 13
Thanks (Received): 6
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 11
I have an 3 yr. old Ariens Pro and recently installed the same tach. My RPM have never reached 3600 either. I'm running at about 3300.
Interesting.
pfn is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Opfoto thanked for this post
Likes Opfoto liked this post
post #6 of 17 Old 02-02-2016, 08:48 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,203
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 517
Thanks (Received): 685
Likes (Given): 3898
Likes (Received): 1497
Garage
I'd like to have the max available and then you can chose to run it anywhere you feel comfortable with.
Just my

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Opfoto thanked for this post
Likes Opfoto liked this post
post #7 of 17 Old 02-02-2016, 09:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 112
Likes (Given): 13
Likes (Received): 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiss4aFrog View Post
I'd like to have the max available and then you can chose to run it anywhere you feel comfortable with.
Just my
3600 RPM is whats listed in the service manual at the following link:\

http://previewer.org/?pdfurl=1qeXpur...trS25PkzMuSreY

Running it a bit slower is probably a bit easier on the engine, but you will lose a bit of throwing distance due to slower impeller speed. All the other figures look ok. Be more interesting to see how well the governor does holding it at or around 3400 when its tossing heavy snow.

Of course, there is another school of thought here. If you baby that engine, then it will never wear out and you won't have an excuse to get a new/different snowblower. When I get tired of an engine, I bend the governor spring so it revs to about 6000 rpm, and then after about 4 minutes, you get to go shopping

Work fascinates me.
I can watch somebody work for hours...
2008 Craftsman 944.528391 (It's a Husqvarna ST227P)
27", B&S 305cc 13.5 ft/lb Torque 9.5 hp

Last edited by skutflut; 02-02-2016 at 09:17 PM.
skutflut is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Opfoto thanked for this post
Likes Opfoto liked this post
post #8 of 17 Old 02-03-2016, 08:35 PM
Senior Member
 
GoBlowSnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,562
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 84
Likes (Given): 57
Likes (Received): 262
I'm using the same Tach on a similar if not same engine, and mine seems to do quite well between 3450-3500.
GoBlowSnow is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Opfoto thanked for this post
Likes Opfoto liked this post
post #9 of 17 Old 02-03-2016, 09:43 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 25
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 11
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 10
Likes (Received): 1
t40lanman - thanks for the confirmation of 3600, I thought that I heard that somewhere

nwcove - Thanks and will do, I know my luck is running out!

Kiss4aFrog - Thanks for the video link, Have watched a few of his videos and he is very helpful. As I stated I really don't want to blow this up.

pfn - I think I can adjust it higher but not sure I want/need to....

Kiss4aFrog - I agree know the limits then choose.....

skutflut - I have read that manual and still cant find the "suggested" RPMs. They describe how to measure the RPMs when they are at a certain voltage...etc not really what I was hoping for but thank you for providing the link.

GoBlowSnow - Thanks for your confirmation, it appears as though my settings are inline and not something to worry about.

I am going to leave it as is and report back when I get to throw some snow

Thanks to everyone for providing me the links and opinions .... I appreciate it!

Marc Fish
Capital District area, NY USA

'06 Craftsman (MTD)#247.88790 9hp Tec 28"
2 stage Engine #LA318SA-156554
*****************************************
'95 Craftsman II (???)#536.886360 10hp Tec 30"
2 stage TracPlus (reclaimed)
Opfoto is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 02-04-2016, 09:15 AM
pfn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 247
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 13
Thanks (Received): 6
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 11
Opfoto said... "pfn - I think I can adjust it higher but not sure I want/need to....".

I'd like to have something to check my tach against. I ran my machine yesterday to see what it read with no load. I couldn't get a good read as the tach was all over the place. It wouldn't settle on any number long enough. I don't recall having that problem when I was moving snow. I wonder if the tach as issues.
pfn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome