Beginner trying to learn... Auger Belt? - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 02-20-2016, 11:17 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: ohio
Posts: 15
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 5
Likes (Received): 1
Auger Belt for 2000 Yard machine

1st post here, and new to machine just starting to tinker around. I'm very green to anything, but i'm hoping to learn from this site. Open to any advise..

I recently had my auger belt break, and went to replace and most places only had belts without teeth? Would this be ok to use? What are the advantage/disadvantage of the teeth?
demonbarber10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 02-20-2016, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 348
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1144
Use only fractional HP belts. snowblowers don't use those tooth belts. if you have a friendly local hardware store in your hood. they will have the stuff you need. ALOHA from the paradise city.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
POWERSHIFT93 is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 02-20-2016, 12:40 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: ohio
Posts: 15
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 5
Likes (Received): 1
OK, i was wondering because the belt that was on it has teeth, and the MTD part site has teeth belt as the Original part. But no where in my town had the belt that was on it. They only had smooth belts
demonbarber10 is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 02-20-2016, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lowell area, MA
Posts: 3,246
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 118
Thanks (Received): 277
Likes (Given): 358
Likes (Received): 633
Two belts threads that might be educational, with lots of good advice:
https://www.snowblowerforum.com/forum...pix-belts.html
and
https://www.snowblowerforum.com/forum...uger-belt.html

I was reading that the teeth can help keep the belt cooler, and also allow it to wrap around small pulleys more easily.

I'd stick to a good brand of belt. The OEM belt, while more expensive, will usually be a decent choice, if you can't decide on an alternative.

I'd suggest keeping a spare on-hand.

Ariens 1024 Pro
Toro Power Clear 221QR
Toro Power Curve 1800
RedOctobyr is online now  
post #5 of 24 Old 02-20-2016, 12:55 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: ohio
Posts: 15
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 5
Likes (Received): 1
Thank you i first put my belt on over the brake of the bottom pulley and didn't know why it was smoking, After reading a little i took the bottom plate off and found the brake and fixed the belt. I felt really dumb for doing such a thing but didn't know any better. This is the 1st time i have ever worked on something motor driven. I dont even know how to change oil in a car. So i'm trying to research alot and learn, so i have heard you dont learn if you dont try. Thanks for all the advise
demonbarber10 is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes bwdbrn1 liked this post
post #6 of 24 Old 02-20-2016, 01:09 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: ohio
Posts: 15
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 5
Likes (Received): 1
In the parts guide it doesn't say the width of the belt and on some site they dont have any less the 1/2. It would seem like mine would be a 3/8th is that possible?
demonbarber10 is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 02-20-2016, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,418
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 112
Likes (Given): 13
Likes (Received): 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by demonbarber10 View Post
In the parts guide it doesn't say the width of the belt and on some site they dont have any less the 1/2. It would seem like mine would be a 3/8th is that possible?
You could have 3/8 belts. Check your manual and find out the part numbers. You can then usually find sites that cross reference your part number to the dimensions of the belt. If you google the part number, you will get several hits from sites that sell belts. If you can't find one locally, just order it up and it will be there in a couple of days.

The belts with teeth or cogs are designed so that they can run on smaller diameter pulleys, the space between the teeth lets the belt turn tighter. If you have really small pulleys on your machine, you should try and find the cogged belts.

You should also try and get Kevlar reinforced belts, particularly for the auger as they are much stronger, and stand up to shock loads which augers always seem to find.

Automotive belts are not usually strong enough for snowblower and other outdoor power equipment. Belts used on other applications like furnace motors or small pumps are also not suitable.

Work fascinates me.
I can watch somebody work for hours...
2008 Craftsman 944.528391 (It's a Husqvarna ST227P)
27", B&S 305cc 13.5 ft/lb Torque 9.5 hp
skutflut is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks demonbarber10 thanked for this post
Likes demonbarber10 liked this post
post #8 of 24 Old 02-20-2016, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
94EG8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 465
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 48
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by POWERSHIFT93 View Post
Use only fractional HP belts.
Do not use fractional HP belts, they wont last. Use a proper outdoor power equipment belt.

Quote:
Originally Posted by POWERSHIFT93 View Post
snowblowers don't use those tooth belts.
Some of them do. They aren't especially common, but some do use them, the older MTDs with dual small auger belts for example use a cogged belts.
94EG8 is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks demonbarber10 thanked for this post
Likes demonbarber10 liked this post
post #9 of 24 Old 02-20-2016, 10:20 PM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
If you have a Tractor Supply Company / Rural King or some other local farm store in your area they usually have cheap belts if you know your size. I don't think I have seen cogged belts there though. They are normally around $5 - $6 unless you are getting one of those larger riding mower belts.

Please direct all snow blower questions to the forums and not to me with PMs.
Shryp is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 02-21-2016, 05:23 AM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 348
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1144
What brand of blower youse got????????????????

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
POWERSHIFT93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome