LKS

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
fuel/maintenance questions

Hello,

This is my first time owning a snowblower and I had a couple basic questions.

1) Is it better to use 'canned' non-eth fuel like trufuel, or reg. 87 octane that has eth with a fuel treatment such as sea foam?
2) If I use trufuel or similar, should I still treat it with sea foam or stabil?
3) If the fuel is non-eth, or is treated, do I still need to run it till empty each year?
4) Do you hose off snowblowers like you do cars if the snow was treated with salt or are there areas to avoid getting 'soaked'?
5) Is there a 'warm start' procedure that I should use instead of what is in the manual if I just take a break and the engine is still warm?
6)Snowblower just arrived, looks like some oil spilled in box (small amount). If shipped in position that would cause oil to leak, any harm to engine or just top off oil before starting and don't worry about it?

Thanks for your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 10-06-2016, 12:38 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 349
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1145
Quote:
Originally Posted by LKS View Post
Hello,

This is my first time owning a snowblower and I had a couple basic questions.

1) Is it better to use 'canned' non-eth fuel like trufuel, or reg. 87 octane that has eth with a fuel treatment such as sea foam?
2) If I use trufuel or similar, should I still treat it with sea foam or stabil?
3) If the fuel is non-eth, or is treated, do I still need to run it till empty each year?
4) Do you hose off snowblowers like you do cars if the snow was treated with salt or are there areas to avoid getting 'soaked'?
5) Is there a 'warm start' procedure that I should use instead of what is in the manual if I just take a break and the engine is still warm?