Ariens Hydro Pro 36 - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-11-2016, 05:20 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ariens hydro pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: CT
Posts: 324
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 26
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 52
Garage
Ariens Hydro Pro 36

This is a 2 week old machine as I type this. I added a set of LEDs on the dash and removed the OEM light. I don't care for it because like my now backup Ariens platinum 30 machine, the light just shines in my eyes.
I also added my custom wheels up front so like my back up machine the auto turn will work better and the wiper bar inside the shovel won't ever wear down.
One thing I like is it's well balanced. The engine is slid back on the frame making it light on the shovel.

I have ran it down the driveway because of the wheels on it and it does handle nice. It should be a pleasure to use. I hope it's not too cold this year otherwise.

The machine looks really well built and I will test it out in less that 24 hours for real as we got snow coming for the first time this season. If I remember, I will write back with a follow up to this topic to let you know how it runs.






Last edited by Ariens hydro pro; 12-11-2016 at 05:53 AM. Reason: added a picture
Ariens hydro pro is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-11-2016, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 184
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 8
Thanks (Received): 12
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 16
Very nice!

Did you hardwire those LEDs to the line that powered the original light? Or did you add a battery?
matto is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-11-2016, 01:49 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ariens hydro pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: CT
Posts: 324
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 26
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 52
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by matto View Post
Very nice!

Did you hardwire those LEDs to the line that powered the original light? Or did you add a battery?
I cut out the original light. Then I added 2 switches, a in line fuse and a bridge rectifier to convert AC off the machine to DC so the LED lights won't flicker.
I have a youtube channel and you can see how I wired it up here.

Ariens hydro pro is online now  
post #4 of 11 Old 12-11-2016, 01:57 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ariens hydro pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: CT
Posts: 324
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 26
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 52
Garage
To add to my reply, someone emailed me last week when it went up and wanted to see them shine at night, so I made a short 3 minute video in my garage to help him out. I wasn't sure if my camera was going to film at night or not. The lights are really bright (18w a piece) and they are cheap to buy. Maybe the entire project cost me $35 bucks.

Ariens hydro pro is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-11-2016, 02:59 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ariens hydro pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: CT
Posts: 324
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 26
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 52
Garage
Here is my review of the machine on youtube.


Also, I did contact Ariens company about the snow cab on how it fits on this machine. They explained how it fits. I didn't care for their method as the bars seem to block the headlights I put and the cab (to me) sits closer to the engine. It also seems a tad to short compared to my other machine which the cab is mounted.

Here are their pictures that they sent me on how to mount the snow cab.



Ariens hydro pro is online now  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-11-2016, 03:15 PM
Senior Member
 
mrfixit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 201
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 9
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 26
Garage
I like the wheels.
I thought of this on my new, first snow blower.
Details please on how you made them.

Why buy skids and replace the scraper bar?
mrfixit is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-11-2016, 05:52 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ariens hydro pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: CT
Posts: 324
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 26
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 52
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfixit View Post
I like the wheels.
I thought of this on my new, first snow blower.
Details please on how you made them.

Why buy skids and replace the scraper bar?
I got the idea from my late Uncle. He was a smart cookie.

I use a sealed bearing and modify the skid by drilling a hole and bolting it up. The bearings are found on ebay or amazon. In my description I list exactly what it is. They been on the front for 3 years now and still work like the day I put them on.

Ariens hydro pro is online now  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-11-2016, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Cardo111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: The Lower Hudson Valley, NY
Posts: 1,052
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 52
Thanks (Received): 125
Likes (Given): 78
Likes (Received): 168
Sweet new machine and well done LED light mod and vids, best of luck with it. Hope you have a chance to put her to work, we just got about an inch here so far we'll see tomorrow morning but I'm not getting too excited, will likely mix with rain.

Ariens Platinum 24 SHO w/369cc carbureted LCT motor


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Cardo111 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-11-2016, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 184
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 8
Thanks (Received): 12
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 16
Great light mod and video!

A couple of things I'm curious about.

1. Why did you make them separate switches? Do you ever want to turn them on and off independently?

2. if there wasn't a fuse for the original light, why do you need one now?

3. Did you have to buy just the right AC - DC converter to match the light specs? How much power is coming out of the blower?

Last edited by matto; 12-11-2016 at 09:58 PM.
matto is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-11-2016, 10:23 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ariens hydro pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: CT
Posts: 324
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 26
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 52
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by matto View Post
Great light mod and video!

A couple of things I'm curious about.

1. Why did you make them separate switches? Do you ever want to turn them on and off independently?

2. if there wasn't a fuse for the original light, why do you need one now?

3. Did you have to buy just the right AC - DC converter to match the light specs? How much power is coming out of the blower?
I'm assuming the machine generates 80 or 90 watts of power.

I done this light mod on my Platinum 30 machine first using 35w sealed beams. If I run both lights with the hand warmers the lights will dim slightly. That is why I added 2 switches to the new machine, (even though I went with LED lights I wired it with 2 switches automatically, in the event I needed to power off one of the lights).

Of course the LEDs draw much less than the sealed beams.

Because I added lights, a bridge, and a pair of switches, I thought to be safe and run a 5a in line fuse before the bridge. So if anything shorts out, it is something I did and I won't harm the machine in any way. (even if it did short out I don't know if I can burn something out or not)
So I'm just playing safe with my wiring job and adding a fuse.

The bridge rectifier is a very simple part that converts AC to DC. As long as it's rated for more than you are going to draw, then your going to be safe. The one I installed is rated for 1000 volts at 50A. I'm using 12 volts at 3 amps so I'm safe.

Bob
Ariens hydro pro is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome