LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-27-2016, 10:06 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 1
Ariens 10M4. Good machine?

I'm new to the world of snow blowers so I'm looking for a little help. I found an old Ariens 10M4 online. Haven't seen it in person yet. From the photos it looks ok. Owner says it runs fine and has papers that it was recently serviced. Looks like the tires will need to be replaced tho. How difficult is it to replace the solid tires with an upgraded tubeless tire and rim? Anyone ever attempt this modification? Still up in the air on whether to spend $300 on this 4Hp machine. Any advice?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 01-27-2016, 10:42 AM
Super Moderator

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 509
Thanks (Received): 680
Likes (Given): 3834
Likes (Received): 1474
Garage
to the forum Del257

IMHO I'd get an old Ariens in a heartbeat but not necessarily that old of one for your single "daily driver" at that price.
Is this going to be your only machine ??

You didn't post photos but I think you'd be better served with something 70's or 80's that already has pneumatic tires and has easier parts availability.
That's just my 2 cents.

Good reading and great photos. Run by one of our members: http://gold.mylargescale.com/scottyc...ens/page5.html

Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 7 Old 01-27-2016, 06:52 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like