how post pics 'full size' in the message body - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 11-18-2014, 09:45 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
conwaylake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central NH
Posts: 61
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 8
Thanks (Received): 10
Likes (Given): 7
Likes (Received): 7
how post pics 'full size' in the message body

I see that some posts have images 'embedded' in the message, ie not as as a thumbnail/link.

How can a newbie like me do that?

Thanks.
conwaylake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 11-18-2014, 10:15 AM
Moderator
 
detdrbuzzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 42.23n/83.33w/636
Posts: 6,566
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 213
Thanks (Received): 293
Likes (Given): 1633
Likes (Received): 571
i think you would have to upload the pic's for a pic hosting site like photobucket

current machines
1-toro2450E-38419. 1-toro3000E-38435. 1-toro 3650E-38445
2-toro 521E-38052. 1-toro xl824pt 38086
1-.............,TORO XL 624ps..............
1-............, TORO XL 824ps..............
william
detdrbuzzard is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 11-18-2014, 10:31 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,585
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 158
Likes (Given): 95
Likes (Received): 302
Conway, Buzzard is correct, the easiest way is to create a photobucket or similar account, upload your pics there. Log onto SBF and get to the post you want and click reply. Go up to your browser and open another tab and log into your choice of photosite and get the pic you want, left click it to open, then right click (while cursor is inside pic). A menu shows up, click the "copy image location" choice. Go up to your browser and click open you tab for SBF and yoour response window will still be open.. Above your texting area is a bunch of icons the 5th one from the right is for pictures, click it and it will open a small link window, cursor into the open field and right click there, choose "paste" and it's in. Repeat as needed going back and forth between SBF and picture site tabs. I know there are other ways to do it, but that's how I do it and it's very easy.
I should also note, where ever you stop your cursor while typing is where the pic will go. Also if you hover your cursor over the icons above the texting area in a response window, it will identify what the icons are. Use the same copy and paste procedure for links.

Last edited by jtclays; 11-18-2014 at 10:35 AM.
jtclays is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 11-18-2014, 01:59 PM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
Yea, that picture link basically just pastes in your copied link and adds [img] and [/img] before and after the link.

Please direct all snow blower questions to the forums and not to me with PMs.
Shryp is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 12-22-2014, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Syr NY
Posts: 646
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 70
Thanks (Received): 57
Likes (Given): 425
Likes (Received): 139
How can I limit the size of " Full size " pics that I view when looking through a thread ?

The 800X600 range are fine , but the 1K and up width makes me scroll back and forth to read the text of all the posts on that page.
I see a resize option in my user cp , but unsure how to make it work.

Phil

Ariens 2 foot SHO

Last edited by Shryp; 12-23-2014 at 04:33 AM. Reason: Oops, I hit edit instead of quote...
1894 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 12-23-2014, 04:33 AM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1894 View Post
How can I limit the size of " Full size " pics that I view when looking through a thread ?

The 800X600 range are fine , but the 1K and up width makes me scroll back and forth to read the text of all the posts on that page.
I see a resize option in my user cp , but unsure how to make it work.
Wow, that always bothered me on any forum. I know some places resize, but most don't. I never knew there was such an option. I played with it a bit and it works great. Thanks for pointing it out.

Click "User CP" on the top option bar.
Click "Edit Options" under the "Settings & Options" sub section down the left.
Scroll down to the "Thread Display Options" sub section.
Find the "Image Resize" section and change the "Please select the resize mode :" to "Default (Enlarge in same window)".
In the "Image Width" box type in something like "1024".

(Probably only need to add the number for the box on the lest step, the other one can probably be whatever you want.)

Please direct all snow blower questions to the forums and not to me with PMs.
Shryp is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 12-23-2014, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Syr NY
Posts: 646
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 70
Thanks (Received): 57
Likes (Given): 425
Likes (Received): 139
Thanks !! I'll give it a try

Phil

Ariens 2 foot SHO
1894 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 01-02-2015, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Syr NY
Posts: 646
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 70
Thanks (Received): 57
Likes (Given): 425
Likes (Received): 139
I've tried changing the setting to 1,024 , and also 800 for width in my user cp.
The pics still show up as big as they were uploaded. IE the tech vs brigs thread in the ariens section.
I use firefox on windows 7 if that helps any .

Here are screen shots using the zoom on my browser
If I zoom out enough to not have to scroll back and forth to read each line of text , the text gets too small to read .
100%



67%



50 %


Phil

Ariens 2 foot SHO

Last edited by 1894; 01-02-2015 at 08:52 AM.
1894 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 01-02-2015, 09:28 AM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
Are you sure the resize option isn't set to keep original size and you are changing the width and not the height?

Please direct all snow blower questions to the forums and not to me with PMs.
Shryp is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 01-02-2015, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Syr NY
Posts: 646
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 70
Thanks (Received): 57
Likes (Given): 425
Likes (Received): 139
I'm sure I'm doing something wrong

Leaving the default setting blank on , and nothing entered in the box should resize pics wider than 640 to that size , if I'm reading it correctly . It doesn't resize anything doing it that way for me. IE the pick in the thread still shows up at over 1,700 wide.
Typing 1024 in the width box also doesn't change the size .
It wouldn't be too bad if only the post with the extra wide pic was that wide , my problem is that every line of text in every reply on that page is also that wide.

Current setting in my user cp :


Phil

Ariens 2 foot SHO
1894 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome