furnace transfer switch for generator - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 01-10-2018, 04:43 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: nova scotia-south shore - ave annual snowfall 199.4 cm ( 78.5 ")
Posts: 2,286
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 73
Thanks (Received): 156
Likes (Given): 353
Likes (Received): 582
Garage
furnace transfer switch for generator

any electrical brains out there ? ive been looking at a basic /easy to install transfer switch so i can easily run my furnace with my small generator. the issue is, the switch is rated for 1850 running watts and my generator is 3000 running watts. the furnace only pulls about 650 watts max .
will 3000 watts fry the switch ? i can only assume that the switch has electronics in it as the " switch" itself is basically a toggle/rocker type switch.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Reliance...F151/202216476

24 " 1967? Ariens Sno thro
28 " Ariens Sno Tek
Toro CCR ss
1966 Gravely LI Walk behind with dog eater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by nwcove; 01-10-2018 at 04:47 PM.
nwcove is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 01-10-2018, 04:51 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 474
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 33
Likes (Given): 28
Likes (Received): 68
650 watts is probably just the burner, correct? Your furnace circuit is also running dampers if hot air, circulating pump(s). Is this a boiler or hot air furnace?
DriverRider is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 01-10-2018, 04:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Western NY
Posts: 41
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwcove View Post
any electrical brains out there ? ive been looking at a basic /easy to install transfer switch so i can easily run my furnace with my small generator. the issue is, the switch is rated for 1850 running watts and my generator is 3000 running watts. the furnace only pulls about 650 watts max .
will 3000 watts fry the switch ? i can only assume that the switch has electronics in it as the " switch" itself is basically a toggle/rocker type switch.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Reliance...F151/202216476
The switch will only pull what is needed from the generator, it wont pump 3000 watts into the switch. I have a different brand switch that I installed myself, worked well powering my gas furnace on a test run with my ~2000 watt inverter generator.

Currently waiting for snow...

2004 Yard Machines 8/24 For the big storms
2003 Toro Powerlite That waits in my trunk, should the need arise... shoveling... HA!... ya, don't think so.
2002 Toro 2450 Primary machine
1991/1992 Honda HS621 Backup for the 2450
TheFanMan is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 01-10-2018, 05:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 381
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 12
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 44
If your furnace is on a 15 (or 20) amp circuit now you could probably just get a 15 (or 20) amp transfer switch. You furnace will only draw what it draws regardless of generator output. You could always pick up the phone and ask these people.

https://www.electricgeneratorsdirect...iAAEgLXuPD_BwE
dhazelton is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 01-10-2018, 05:12 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 474
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 33
Likes (Given): 28
Likes (Received): 68
The H-D switch is nice but all that is really needed is an electrical box, double pole ON-OFF-ON switch with cover plate and the wire.
DriverRider is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 01-10-2018, 05:13 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: nova scotia-south shore - ave annual snowfall 199.4 cm ( 78.5 ")
Posts: 2,286
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 73
Thanks (Received): 156
Likes (Given): 353
Likes (Received): 582
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by DriverRider View Post
650 watts is probably just the burner, correct? Your furnace circuit is also running dampers if hot air, circulating pump(s). Is this a boiler or hot air furnace?
its a combination oil/wood boiler, two seperate units, two pumps at 80w each running on the medium setting, the burner " looks like" it draws 6.5 amps ( no wattage shown), three zone valves and a few transformers for the wood side draft controls. its only a few years old and has the enerstar compliant tag on it. it seems like any problem would be on the generator side as the switch is rated for 1850 max running from gen, and im at 3000 running watts.......just cant figure out why the switch is rated for gen output and not circuit draw?

24 " 1967? Ariens Sno thro
28 " Ariens Sno Tek
Toro CCR ss
1966 Gravely LI Walk behind with dog eater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nwcove is online now  
post #7 of 18 Old 01-10-2018, 05:49 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 474
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 33
Likes (Given): 28
Likes (Received): 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwcove View Post
..just cant figure out why the switch is rated for gen output and not circuit draw?
1850 watts equates to 15A so if your circuit breaker for furnace currently in the fuse panel is 15A you good to go.
DriverRider is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 01-10-2018, 06:07 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: nova scotia-south shore - ave annual snowfall 199.4 cm ( 78.5 ")
Posts: 2,286
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 73
Thanks (Received): 156
Likes (Given): 353
Likes (Received): 582
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFanMan View Post
The switch will only pull what is needed from the generator, it wont pump 3000 watts into the switch. I have a different brand switch that I installed myself, worked well powering my gas furnace on a test run with my ~2000 watt inverter generator.
thats what i thought......still confused as to why the manufacturer rates that switch on gen output and not circuit draw.

24 " 1967? Ariens Sno thro
28 " Ariens Sno Tek
Toro CCR ss
1966 Gravely LI Walk behind with dog eater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nwcove is online now  
post #9 of 18 Old 01-10-2018, 06:30 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: nova scotia-south shore - ave annual snowfall 199.4 cm ( 78.5 ")
Posts: 2,286
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 73
Thanks (Received): 156
Likes (Given): 353
Likes (Received): 582
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by DriverRider View Post
1850 watts equates to 15A so if your circuit breaker for furnace currently in the fuse panel is 15A you good to go.
the box close to the furnace has a 20 amp fuse in it, was just hoping to put something in that was easy for the wife to deal with. she adapted to the plug n play world quite quickly for oldish people, ....so much more than a simple plug n play deal means an hour drive home from work and a return trip. lol

24 " 1967? Ariens Sno thro
28 " Ariens Sno Tek
Toro CCR ss
1966 Gravely LI Walk behind with dog eater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nwcove is online now  
post #10 of 18 Old 01-10-2018, 06:32 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glastonbury, CT
Posts: 474
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 33
Likes (Given): 28
Likes (Received): 68
Generators are rated by watts so it makes bundle/accessory shopping easier for the consumer.
DriverRider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome