LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-12-2015, 07:59 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 2
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Best way to make an outdoor rink?

So I'm relatively new to this whole huge winter thing but my new house has a pond out in the back that freezes up and is a decent size.
The previous owners used to skate back there so there are floodlights etc set up on the trees but there's so much crap and brush (not to mention a few feet of snow right now) back there that the surface is very rough, when I can get down to it.

I was thinking of buying one of those little gas powered water pumps and trying to flood it through a hole in the ice but I'm thinking it might be frozen through.

What's the best way to go about making a decent surface without getting huge water/sewer bill?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 02-12-2015, 08:15 AM
Super Moderator

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 61
Thanks (Received): 336
Likes (Given): 148
Likes (Received): 765
If the pond is more than three feet deep, its very unlikely its frozen through..
you could have one to two feet of ice, but not likely to be more than that..

I like the idea of using a pump to re-flood the surface, that could work!

wait for a timeframe where you are sure you arent going to get new snow for a day or two, and its going to be nice and cold..
clear the surface of snow.
shovel out an area at the edge of the pond, on "land", to sit the pump.
drill a hole in the ice for the inlet tube,
flood the surface to an inch or so of water..plug up the hole, let it freeze..
should work nicely!

how big of a pond are we talking about?

Scot

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 5 Old 02-12-2015, 02:34 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 52
Thanks (Received): 85