LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 Old 12-26-2012, 12:14 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Pulley stuck on Auger Shaft

Newbie here on the forum with an emergency.

Keeping my old Toro 521 snowblower going has always been easy with regular maintenance. Now, I have a problem with the gearbox for the auger. Easy to do most of what they tell you in the service manual to get it out for service -- until they say "slide the pulley off the end of the impeller shaft" (after removing the two set screws). Right, just slider 'er off there. It is stuck tight!

I have found many posts on this subject all over the internet, and no good answers. The pulley is stuck tight, and no reasonable amount of pressure with a crow bar down by the shaft will budge it.

This post from another site sort of explains it, but once again, doesn't complete the explanation:

"There should be a key way under 1 of the set screws. Use a piece of small stiff wire to probe around in the hole., then blow the debris out with air. SHine a light into the holes to get a good look. If the pulley is loose on the shaft your probably seeing shiny spots where the set screws kept the shaft clean... look at the (Toro) parts breakdown to see what is supposed to be there."

First of all, if "the pulley is loose"-- there's no problem!
Second of all, what, if anything, is supposed to "be there" in that set screw hole?

Since there are two set screws, I'm guessing there is not keyway or key. If there is, how do you loosen the key?

So far, spraying the shaft where it meets the pulley, and the two empty set screw holes with lots of penetrating "PB Blaster" oil have not done it.

I don't want to go putting heat on it or anything drastic until I know if I've missed a trick.

Thanks a whole lot. One more week of no snow in the forecast, and I need to get going on this thing.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 36 Old 12-26-2012, 01:33 AM