Power max 724 chute control - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-21-2020, 02:15 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 24
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Power max 724 chute control

I am having some trouble with my chute control...it moves left to right fine...but there is some tension when I push forward to move the chute down (it goes down slowly) and then it won't go back up at all!! When i bring the blower inside the garage the control works fine again!! Once I go out in the cold it becomes a problem again. I tried the solution in the manual for adjusting the discharge chute latch but it didnt help. Any suggestions? Thanks
Ritetool is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-21-2020, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northville NY - Southern Adirondack Mtns.
Posts: 1,479
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 98
Likes (Given): 42
Likes (Received): 260
Keep in mind that the cable should not have broken, unless it was out of adjustment of its operating range. i.e. you were trying to raise it too much, or lower it too much. When installing the new cable, pay close attention to adjusting it correctly...or you may wind up getting to know your parts guy on a 1st name basis.


New thought - I suppose it could also have failed because water may have entered inside the cable, and froze, and then when you tried to move the cable, it broke, or it may have rusted or gotten dirty inside the cable, and also caused it to break when trying to move the chute.

Last edited by RIT333; 01-21-2020 at 08:35 PM.
RIT333 is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-21-2020, 09:51 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 24
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
It is out in the garage now and everything is working fine....I sprayed some lube on the wire at the stick and chute ends. I will take it out tomorrow and see if it changes in the cold.
Ritetool is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-21-2020, 10:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northville NY - Southern Adirondack Mtns.
Posts: 1,479
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 98
Likes (Given): 42
Likes (Received): 260
Sounds like water in the cable that is freezing. You may have to disconnect one end, and lower that end so it drains out the water overnight.
RIT333 is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-30-2020, 09:20 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 24
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Had it in the garage a few days with a dehumidifier on...it worked fine after....must have been water in the line after all...Thanks!!
Ritetool is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome