97 power shift 824 questions - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 11-25-2014, 10:54 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
97 power shift 824 questions

Ok so I got this blower from my gfs dad, he said if you can get it running I can have it, sweet lol. Ok so I'm new to these, my dumb question is, shouldn't it be able to roll on its on ? When I picked it up I had to drag it cause the wheels won't move ? What could it be ?
AceMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 11-26-2014, 05:38 PM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,165
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 348
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1144
are the wheels rusted to the axle?????? why don't you upload a video of this problem that is presenting itself. that way I can better help you. ALOHA to the forms..: cool:

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
POWERSHIFT93 is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 11-26-2014, 06:12 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
No nothing is rusted, I took the tranny apart an somebody put so much grease in there that it wouldn't go into nutruel. So I cleaned out all the grease, cleaned off the gears an put it back together. Seems to be working now. Now I just have to figure out why when it's running an I put it into gear it moves without having the handle down.
AceMan is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 11-26-2014, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,165
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 348
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1144
what kind of grease did you use??????

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
POWERSHIFT93 is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 11-26-2014, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,165
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 348
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1144
then there is some thing wrong with the transmission. the only way it should move is when the handle is down. the transmission is out of adjustment that is what's wrong with it.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
POWERSHIFT93 is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 11-26-2014, 08:24 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
It's a low temp grease, can't remember what it's called.
AceMan is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 11-26-2014, 08:24 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
What do I need to adjust ?
AceMan is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 12-04-2014, 04:37 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Bump
AceMan is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 12-04-2014, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 3,175
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 142
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 291
I don't have that machine, and have never worked on one. But have you downloaded the owners manual from toro?

From a general standpoint, either the cables from the handles levers are out of adjustment, or you could be looking at a more entailed job with a problem with the drive mechanism. My gut hunch, I'm betting on the second.

Garage:
MTD....2 stage(modern 8.5 HP) not my favorite
Honda HS622 TA-B - acquired at an auction- nice machine for it's size.
Toro S-140- Picked it up on trash day... it runs, sort of.
Yamaha YS 240 TB "Ricky" latest Craigslist find- on the bench now.
db9938 is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 12-05-2014, 04:59 AM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,165
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 348
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1144
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by AceMan View Post
What do I need to adjust ?
the transmission is sealed from the little TORO factory. it is called lubiplate mag 1 grease. in order to adjust the trans. put it up on the bucket. make sure there is no gas in the tank. otherwise you will have a hazmat problem on your hands. there are 4 bolts that hold the trans in. back them out until the trans slides around. there should be no more than 3/8 chain slap in it. check to make sure that is right. I am going off the top of me little mind on that one. then tighten them up. upload pics or a video so I can see everything and to become 1 with that machine. let me know the score on that.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
POWERSHIFT93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome