LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-03-2016, 07:17 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 72
Thanks (Received): 170
Likes (Given): 63
Likes (Received): 583
question on the 8 26 Toro

Greeting friends.....I just finished refurbishing a 1980 8 26 with a Briggs motor that had no compression.....a valve job and some carb work ( and a paint job) and shes sitting pretty. A question......I have no experience with the drive disconnects that I assume is to power around corners......what are the forums thoughts on this model? Like all the older Toros I've been working on.......a BEAST....I'm starting to get really savvy about the electronic safetys. This one looks simpler then the 7 24 and 8 24 I just finished up. I'll have a better idea tomorrow when I tackle that part of the project!
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes classiccat liked this post
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 03-03-2016, 11:34 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 248
Thanks (Received): 288
Likes (Given): 2902
Likes (Received): 537
I fixed up a 1973 model 7/26 for my son-in-law a few years ago. When turning, you can power through the turn by un-locking the wheel on the side you want the machine to turn, OR, you can shift to neutral, un-lock the wheel and just push it through the turn and then re-engage the wheel lock and shift into gear. The system works well if all the wheel lock parts are free and adjusted properly.

Toro 8/24 (38080) 1989
Toro 721-QZR (38743) 2015 (Hemi Predator Power)

Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks cranman thanked for this post
Likes detdrbuzzard liked this post
post #3 of 9 Old 03-04-2016, 06:45 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 353
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grunt View Post