Toro 1132 Tune up - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 09-18-2016, 03:35 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 20
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 12
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Toro 1132 Tune up

Snowblower new to me two years ago...

The auger was always engaged regardless of whether I had the handle pulled or not. I figured the previous owner just had the wrong size belt on.

When changing the belts this summer (because I was too lazy LAST summer) I noticed A LOT of play on the auger pulley.

So I changed the impeller bearing...See picture...

Took apart the auger gearbox and used a liquid gasket because it was leaking a bit when I put gear oil in. Everything looked brand new in there.

Got the auger housing welded in two quarter spots where it was starting to crack by the bottom mount on both sides.

Finally I did the impeller modification with some 3/8 inch rubber.

My snowblower is a 1990 model 38580. I was wondering if I have it long enough to replace the impeller bearing again for the impeller, would this be a better replacement?

SBPF205-14 Pressed Steel Housing Bearing 3-Bolt Flanged Mounted
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160910_172401_resized.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	137.7 KB
ID:	89489  
johnbuzzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 09-19-2016, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,210
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 353
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1163
if it is a POWERSHIFT that is the bearing you use. if everthing lines up right in there you should get 10 years out of it. PM me if you have any other questions.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
POWERSHIFT93 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 09-22-2016, 01:34 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 20
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 12
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Thanks for the reply.
I have another question. What is the black wire hanging in the picture for?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3330.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	224.1 KB
ID:	89601  
johnbuzzz is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 09-22-2016, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 106
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 10
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 9
headlight connection
cpchriste is online now  
post #5 of 18 Old 09-22-2016, 04:33 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,145
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 511
Thanks (Received): 682
Likes (Given): 3849
Likes (Received): 1479
Garage
Yup, it's the lead to power the headlight. How about a few photos of your machine ??

Do you have a manual or the link to the Toro site ?? https://www.toro.com/en/parts/partdetails/?id=3163

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 09-22-2016, 08:49 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 20
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 12
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Thanks for the link! I had the Operator manual but not the others.
Here's a picture of the beast. All ready for some snow.
Also some pictures of the impeller mod.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3333.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	255.0 KB
ID:	89617   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3332.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	167.1 KB
ID:	89625   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3331.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	140.8 KB
ID:	89633  
johnbuzzz is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 09-22-2016, 09:46 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 20
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 12
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
So I read the thread on adding LED lights. I didn't see anything for my machine specifically.
What would I need to do to add them to my 1132 powershift?
johnbuzzz is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 09-22-2016, 09:58 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 20
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 12
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
I read up a bit. So looks like I'd need to install an alternator. Is this a pretty straightforward add?
johnbuzzz is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 09-22-2016, 10:54 PM
Senior Member
 
dbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,498
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 32
Thanks (Received): 133
Likes (Given): 200
Likes (Received): 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbuzzz View Post
I read up a bit. So looks like I'd need to install an alternator. Is this a pretty straightforward add?
You're one of the lucky ones. This one is headlight ready. That wire you have would be attached to an alternator.
Edit to be more clear. You already have an alternator installed.

Last edited by dbert; 09-22-2016 at 10:57 PM.
dbert is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 09-23-2016, 09:20 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 20
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 12
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
After thinking about it, that was what I was hoping.
Although when I read the manual, it stated that Toro typically does not install alternators on non-headlight machines so I wasn't sure.
My machine is serial 0000552 so maybe on the early ones they did it?
Thanks again for the replies.
johnbuzzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome