Toro with a wandering chute - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 01-01-2014, 10:53 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 109
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Toro with a wandering chute

I have a NTM this year Toro 8-24 power shift 38540 98 year. I really like this machine. I'ts well built no major issues so far with one exception. The chute doesn't want to stay were I put it. All the parts seem to be as they should as far as I can tell. Any thoughts? Tim
TimY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 01-01-2014, 11:25 AM
Moderator
 
detdrbuzzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 42.23n/83.33w/636
Posts: 6,572
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 213
Thanks (Received): 293
Likes (Given): 1645
Likes (Received): 581
i was having the same issue with my 521E the last time i used it. i though something was worn out but like you said nothing was missing or worn. when i did the oil change on the 521R i wanted to see if it had the same issue but it didn't but i did notice that the bracket that holds the worm gear seemed bent in more than on the 521E. the bend in the bracket makes it touch the worm gear, seems thats all toro used to keep the chute from rotating so i took a hanner to the bracket on the 521E and knocked it in towards the worm gear. i might have to bend it more after i test it out

current machines
1-toro2450E-38419. 1-toro3000E-38435. 1-toro 3650E-38445
2-toro 521E-38052. 1-toro xl824pt 38086
1-.............,TORO XL 624ps..............
1-............, TORO XL 824ps..............
william
detdrbuzzard is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 01-01-2014, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 147
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Interesting topic as my chute walks on mine esp in heavy snow. I just thought it was part of the design and I was living with it. I guess I need to look closer at mine and see if bending that piece would help on my "94" Toro 1132 Powershift.
Kestral is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 01-01-2014, 11:39 AM
Moderator
 
detdrbuzzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 42.23n/83.33w/636
Posts: 6,572
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 213
Thanks (Received): 293
Likes (Given): 1645
Likes (Received): 581
if this doesnt work, i and can't bend the bracket enough i'm going to take the assembly apart and add a washer to put friction on the worm gear

current machines
1-toro2450E-38419. 1-toro3000E-38435. 1-toro 3650E-38445
2-toro 521E-38052. 1-toro xl824pt 38086
1-.............,TORO XL 624ps..............
1-............, TORO XL 824ps..............
william
detdrbuzzard is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 01-01-2014, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 147
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by detdrbuzzard View Post
if this doesnt work, i and can't bend the bracket enough i'm going to take the assembly apart and add a washer to put friction on the worm gear
Great idea! Please keep us posted.. That washer idea will prob do the trick I think it just needs a bit of friction.
Kestral is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 01-01-2014, 11:51 AM
Moderator
 
detdrbuzzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 42.23n/83.33w/636
Posts: 6,572
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 213
Thanks (Received): 293
Likes (Given): 1645
Likes (Received): 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kestral View Post
Great idea! Please keep us posted.. That washer idea will prob do the trick I think it just needs a bit of friction.
its snowing now so i might get a chance to see if bending the bracket works later today

current machines
1-toro2450E-38419. 1-toro3000E-38435. 1-toro 3650E-38445
2-toro 521E-38052. 1-toro xl824pt 38086
1-.............,TORO XL 624ps..............
1-............, TORO XL 824ps..............
william
detdrbuzzard is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 01-01-2014, 12:14 PM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
Before everyone goes bending their brackets, give the bolt a loosen. Most of them are slotted to allow for adjustments. OK, I know my old Ariens is and I think my 3521 Toro was.
Shryp is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 01-01-2014, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,167
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 349
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1144
Check out the chute plates and spacers. They might need replacing. The stupid things wear out fast. There is no slot on them they use a 5/16 carraige bolt. Be sure to load the collars with black grease that helps to.
POWERSHIFT93 is online now  
post #9 of 23 Old 01-01-2014, 03:47 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 109
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
OK all good Ideas alas I still don't see any wear or out of alignment brackets. The control for the chute is on the dash. The rod goes through a plastic piece in the dash seems to have a lot of play, but appears to be as it should. I have noticed that with the blower running the control handle will bounce around a lot. I think powershift might be on the right track I'll have to recheck those plastic spacers that hold the chute on but I did have the chute off to do some minor touch up and they 'seemed' fine. This unit only had maybe 10 hours on it if that, spent most of it's life in dry storage so I can't imagine o did I see any significant wear. But it's way to cold right now.
TimY is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 01-01-2014, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 147
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
My "94" 1132 chute has always seemed a little too easy to turn and or "loose" so some way of tightening the whole works would be great. When I have time I am going to spend some time figuring that one out.
Kestral is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome