Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 14
Likes (Received): 2
Garage
Storm Tracker 2690 XP Mods

Hello All,

First post... first time snow blower owner... full disclosure, I'm a tech nerd (make computer chips for a living) and very much not handy when it comes to engines etc. I try, but not always successfully.

Anyway... Just bought a used 2690 XP (model 31AM73R3711, which I think makes it a 2011 or 2012?).

I'm considering two modifications and have a question about one:
1) impeller scrapers (or whatever people call them... drill some holes, add some heavy duty rubber to clear the impeller area and not let wet/heavy snow get caught in the chute).
2) LED headlights.

I think my neighbor (who is pretty mechanically inclined) will help me do the impeller mod.
I've done a tone of research on the LED headlights, but electrical and wiring is definitely not my strong suit.
I've ordered nearly all the parts I need to do it (bridge rectifier, capacitors etc. etc).

So here's the question: my blower has 2 wires coming out of it:
Red for heated grips
Yellow for headlight

Can anyone confirm that the yellow is DC directly and what's the voltage?
I plan to try to measure it but again I thought I'd ask here before I google "how to use a multi meter".

Sorry if this isn't the best place for this post... I can/will move the bulk of this post to modifications forum/section and especially the LED mod, the thread on that is great!

thanks to all!

ck
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 11-11-2017, 01:03 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 85
Likes (Given): 21
Likes (Received): 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by crack-kitty View Post

So here's the question: my blower has 2 wires coming out of it:
Red for heated grips
Yellow for headlight

Can anyone confirm that the yellow is DC directly and what's the voltage?
I plan to try to measure it but again I thought I'd ask here before I google "how to use a multi meter".