LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 05-03-2018, 08:21 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
Question 3090 XP drive issues

I just picked up a second hand 3090 XP and the original owner said that this past winter he was snow blowing with it and after about 20 feet it just stopped going. He advertised it as "blown transmission". What I've found is with the machine off I can pull the left "touch 'n turn" trigger and the unit free wheels, pulling the right trigger does nothing. With the machine running pulling the right trigger does nothing but make an odd noise. Pulling the left trigger engages the left wheel, and since the right wheel is free wheeling the machine goes forward. I would really like to get both wheels to engage. I am brand new to snow blowers, so any advice on where to start looking would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 05-03-2018, 09:11 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
After doing some more research I think the right hand planetary gear might have some broken pieces, thankfully they don't appear to be too expensive. I'll know more when I pull it apart.

https://www.jackssmallengines.com/ja...planetary-gear
post #3 of 11 Old 05-03-2018, 09:34 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 85
Likes (Given): 22
Likes (Received): 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixteen2nd View Post
After doing some more research I think the right hand planetary gear might have some broken pieces, thankfully they don't appear to be too expensive. I'll know more when I pull it apart.

https://www.jackssmallengines.com/ja...planetary-gear
Wow, those diagrams are amazing. I'll bet if you had a 3D printer, you could make a snowblower !
post #4 of 11 Old 05-04-2018, 09:22 AM
Super Moderator

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 509
Thanks (Received): 680
Likes (Given): 3834
Likes (Received): 1474
Garage
to SBF sixteen2nd