storm2410 engine swap - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 56 Old 08-22-2014, 11:35 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Staten Island,NY
Posts: 190
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 2
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 9
storm2410 engine swap

I have a Storm2410 snowblower with a 179cc powermore engine. I'm looking to put on either the Predator 212cc or the LCT Stormforce 208cc. Has anyone mounted either of these engines to their machine?
storm2410 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 56 Old 08-23-2014, 05:53 AM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
Many of us have put Predator engines on our blowers. Worst thing you will run into is having to enlarge the main jet in the carb to allow a little more gas in.

I don't remember hearing of anyone mounting an LCT, but Ariens has been using LCT engines and I don't recall any issues on those.

Please direct all snow blower questions to the forums and not to me with PMs.
Shryp is offline  
post #3 of 56 Old 08-23-2014, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Motor City's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 624
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 43
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 43
I just picked up a older, but similar model, but with a blown Tecumseh. I think I'm going to reto-fit a Predator on it. From what I can figure out so far it doesn't look very hard to do.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20140823_142754.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	233.8 KB
ID:	18121  




Ariens ST11528LE
Honda HS720
Motor City is online now  
post #4 of 56 Old 08-23-2014, 09:54 PM
Senior Member
 
GustoGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,465
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 46
Thanks (Received): 67
Likes (Given): 57
Likes (Received): 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motor City View Post
I just picked up a older, but similar model, but with a blown Tecumseh. I think I'm going to reto-fit a Predator on it. From what I can figure out so far it doesn't look very hard to do.
The 212cc will have more torque than the 179cc engine. There is no replacement for more displacement. My old MTD with the Predator 212cc throws snow farther and higher than my neighbors much newer 8 hp machine
GustoGuy is offline  
post #5 of 56 Old 08-23-2014, 11:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Motor City's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 624
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 43
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 43
GustoGuy,

Did yo have to use a different length belt when you did you conversion. And if so how did you figure out the right size? I am going to try and buy pulleys that are the same diameter as what was on my machine. But I anticipate that I will have to get different belt lengths.




Ariens ST11528LE
Honda HS720
Motor City is online now  
post #6 of 56 Old 08-24-2014, 06:39 AM
Senior Member
 
GustoGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,465
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 46
Thanks (Received): 67
Likes (Given): 57
Likes (Received): 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motor City View Post
GustoGuy,

Did yo have to use a different length belt when you did you conversion. And if so how did you figure out the right size? I am going to try and buy pulleys that are the same diameter as what was on my machine. But I anticipate that I will have to get different belt lengths.
You can use the rope trick to estimate which size belt you will need. If the pto shaft of the new engine is the same as the old engine you can often use the stock belt.
GustoGuy is offline  
post #7 of 56 Old 08-24-2014, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Grunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New Lenox
Posts: 1,913
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 236
Thanks (Received): 276
Likes (Given): 2803
Likes (Received): 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motor City View Post
GustoGuy,

Did yo have to use a different length belt when you did you conversion. And if so how did you figure out the right size? I am going to try and buy pulleys that are the same diameter as what was on my machine. But I anticipate that I will have to get different belt lengths.
This may help to get the correct size belt. Just enter the measurement to the center of each shaft and pulley sizes. I'm not sure if using a 3/8" or 1/2" wide belt makes a difference.


V-Belt Length Calculator

Toro 8/24 (38080) 1989
Toro 421-QZE (38585) 2008 (Gone)
Toro 721-QZR (38741) 2015 (Hemi Predator Power)

Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Grunt is online now  
post #8 of 56 Old 08-24-2014, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Motor City's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 624
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 43
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 43
Unfortunately, the Troy Bilt I have uses a wimpy 1/4 in belt for the drive. I think I can fit a 3/8 belt on the lower pulley. So I will be starting from scratch on mine. I may get away with the original auger belt, but I'll have to see.




Ariens ST11528LE
Honda HS720
Motor City is online now  
post #9 of 56 Old 08-24-2014, 09:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Motor City's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 624
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 43
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 43
Ordered my Pulley, tonight. I did some research and if the friction disc on my machine won't accommodate the 3/8 belt, I think i found another MTD part, friction disc that is for a 3/8 belt. Its a 1/4 wider in diameter. But I think that shouldn't matter much with a more powerful motor. The dis is only $34, with free shipping. So it's not a big expense. I am just going to wait until next weekend to see if Harbor Freight has a labor day special on the Predator's.




Ariens ST11528LE
Honda HS720
Motor City is online now  
post #10 of 56 Old 08-24-2014, 11:49 PM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
I don't think it is really necessary to go up in size on the drive pulley. With the reduction going through the drive system there isn't a lot of torque on it. Plus the machine is a blower and not a plow so all you should be moving with it is the weight of the machine.

Please direct all snow blower questions to the forums and not to me with PMs.
Shryp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome