Yardman electric chute motorreplacement - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-23-2014, 05:02 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Yardman electric chute motorreplacement

I have a 10 year old Yardman 31AH553G401 28" dual stage snow blower. The motor that turns the chute quit working. It looks like a simple automotive power window motor. Anyone know what model car the 24020553B motor came from?
Truckfarmer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-23-2014, 09:00 PM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
There have been been discussions on the subject across a few forums I visit. At the moment this is the only one I can find.

https://www.snowblowerforum.com/forum...tion-help.html

Please direct all snow blower questions to the forums and not to me with PMs.
Shryp is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-23-2014, 10:03 PM
Senior Member
 
dbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,496
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 32
Thanks (Received): 132
Likes (Given): 200
Likes (Received): 283
I thought I'd remembered someone mentioning a specific GM power window motor fitting some AYP or MTD chute rotation motor.
Otherwise I may have made all this up in my mind.

Edit
On second thought it may have been the thread Shyrp posted I was thinking of.
Edit 2
This thread was for an MTD
https://www.snowblowerforum.com/forum...ification.html

Last edited by dbert; 12-23-2014 at 10:17 PM.
dbert is online now  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-24-2014, 03:48 PM
pwm
Member
 
pwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Headingley, Manitoba
Posts: 63
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
Just out of curiosity Truckfarmer, can you still operate the chute with the dead motor? On my new Craftsman which has the joystick controlled electric chute, you can override the electric motor by removing a cotter pin and moving the chute control rod away from the motor housing and replacing the pin in a different hole at the chute end. Now you can rotate the chute control rod manualy. Is yours the same?
pwm is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-25-2014, 12:32 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Thank you for the link! This model does not have an override. I would have to remove bolts to release contact of the gear to the chute.
Truckfarmer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome