Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As soon as drive lever is engaged to move the machine a very loud metal to metal grinding begins. When drive lever
is let go the machine continues to creep forward or backward. If machine is turned off friction drive is still engaged.
If machine is left running the friction drive will release after a few seconds and noise stops.
If there is no load is on the wheels (I lift up the machine before engaging the drive lever) there is no noise. Put the machine back on ground and noise starts.
The clutch cable seems to have plenty of slack when not engaged.
I have no previous experience with newer Ariens snowblowers and am looking for possible problems.

Thanks
Ray M

·
Registered
994 Posts
Stand the machine into the maintenance position (standing vertical on the bucket after running carb dry and emptying gas from tank). Remove the 6 screws from the bottom access panel and check the rubber tired disc that runs on the drive plate for deterioration and showing metal contact. The drive clutch cable is attached to the bottom left (in attached pic) on a rod of the drive plate support structure and works against the spring attached to the same rod and extends forward (toward the bucket) to apply tension to release the drive.

If the spring is broken then the drive will be maintained to a certain extent. On my machine there is a black indicator that moves with the driven clutch. Here is a pic of the indicator when drive is released. The indicator moves back toward the wheel when drive clutch engaged. You can see the movement when you take up the drive clutch slack. If the indicator reaches the rearmost position then the rubber tired friction wheel is worn out.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3