Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys posted earlier on a different ariens unit and was sold before i could even get advice on it, found another one this one is a ST724, seller says its about 20 years old, he paid 1174 for it couple years ago that its in great condition garaged kept, saying that has all paperwork and that hes only used about 20 times, he asking $400 but i think good chance I can maybe get for $300. just man seems like a lot for a 20 year old machine, just looking to get your guys opinion if its worth the money. Here are some pictures, my budget is around $300 and this is my first time buying a blower would like something that will last a bit. live in chicago i have a big driveway, its more long then wide, im open to suggestions for something in the $300 range, thank you all again in advanced.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,835 Posts
Welcome to the forum! The machine looks to be in great shape, but the price seems a bit high to me, at least based on machines in the Boston area. I think $300 would be more like what I'd be willing to pay. It has an OHV Tecumseh engine, so the machine can't be too old, but it's 7hp.

The larger ST824 is a fairly common machine, and I see them listed on the Chicago Craigslist. This one is $295, 8hp, he claims good condition, though you'd want to get pictures (and maybe post them here) for more details.

Edit, sorry, forgot the link:
https://chicago.craigslist.org/nwc/grd/d/gilberts-ariens-snow-thrower/6792350766.html

What kind of storms do you get? How much snow, and is it wet, or dry? If you're getting big storms (say 12"+), and/or it's wet, you want enough power that you can clear quickly. Having more than 7hp, if possible, might be nice. Saying it's a big driveway is a tricky description, since that may mean something different to each person. Any idea of how long and how wide?

·
Registered
668 Posts