Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have very little small engine experience and absolutely no snowblower experience (never even used one before). I gambled on a 926LE that reportedly worked fine last winter, but wouldn't start out of storage this week. Gas leaked when the primer button was pressed. I was was able to get it started when I got it home, but it ran rough.

I siphoned the tank and put in new gas with seafoam. I changed the oil and the plug. The throttle was sticking open and I got that corrected. I also opened the carb bowl and did some cleaning from underneath.

Looking at a video I did miss removing and cleaning the jet with the cap next to the bowl.

My main concerns are:

1. There appeared to be a couple streaks of gas in the oil when i changed it, but I don't think it was a lot.

2. The spark plug I removed still functioned, but appeared black and greasy. I'm assuming oil. No idea when it was last changed, it could be the original.

3. When started with the choke on and throttle at high it produces smoke. I haven't tried starting it in any other position. It also seems to idle a little rough, but I don't know what's acceptable with these engines. I've run less than a 1/2 gallon of fuel through it so far.

Not sure if it could cause fluid issues, but it was leaned back towards the handles as it was loaded and unloaded in the back of a pickup.

Here is a video of it starting and running. I did have it running for a few minutes about a half hour before I made the video. Sorry the recording seemed to pick up a lot of vibration and rattling noises.

I appreciate all the information I've gathered lurking here and the maintenence videos I used. Is there more I should do, is it probably fine, or does it just need to run more to smooth itself out? Any insight is appreciated.

·
Registered
1,841 Posts