Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,
I am a rookie to the snowblower world, so here goes nothing. Got a very old Allis-Chalmers snowblower out of my grandmothers garage. The thing was in sad shape, and I am doing a complete resto on it. As far as I have known, the oil was changed every season and my grandfather took care of it until he passed a few years ago in which it was never used.
The specs that I could find on it were
I.D.#-1690672 001486
Motor-Hs50 67207ESER 4187B
Carb-738AF4-Not Too Sure, Couldnt Read It Too Well.

So to make a long story short, all I did was replace the spark plug and was able to get it to run. Everytime it seems I would go to push snow, engage the auger, or engage the transmission it would die out. If I played with the throttle at the point it started falling on its face I could get it to recover, but once I would try to go again...same thing.
Any insight on this would be great guys! Thanks!

·
Registered
1,118 Posts
hey

if it has been sitting for that long its almost guaranteed that you need a carb rebuild or replacement.

carb rebuild kit is around 15 bucks

new carb is around 80 bucks your carb istecumseh part number 631923

things you should do (and probably have) is make sure there is no old gas at all in the tank and fuel lines. replace fuel filter if it has one,