Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone I'm new as you can see. I have a ten year old Ariens ST1028 10 hp.
This thing starts great, idles good but stalls about 10 feet after plowing snow.
It has a new plug, fresh gas a carb rebuilt and I even tried the gas cap trick. I've been a mechanic for over fifty years and this one has got me. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
534 Posts
Welcome
It sounds like fuel flow. Take the bowl off the carb. With it off, open the fuel valve and see if gas comes out. If no, check if the float goes up and down {gently] . If no check the float needle. If you get flow, check the bowl nut, it has [ in most cases] two holes in the side of it, one bigger than the other, they should be clear. Clean the smaller hole with a twist tie wire, or a wire from a wire brush. Look on U tube for donnie boy 73 for videos on carb cleaning. Have a nice Thanksgiving.
Sid

·
Registered
864 Posts
as you start blowing snow it demands more fuel.
the bottom of the fuel tank on the Tec. motors has a fuel strainer in the top of the petcock.
it may flow enough for sitting idling, but it may not flow enough for blowing snow and driving the machine, and cut out on your
take that petcock out and clean it good. every single one I took out of my machines, was plugged nearly solid.
I cut the strainer right out, clean the petcock so it doesn't seep or leak, oil it, then put an inline filter under the tank. snip the line with a razor blade, and put a small inline filter in.
also check your fuel line. the line on my Craftsman 10/32 is falling apart and flaking into black flakes inside the line. if that stuff gets in the carb it's all over, she won't run steady
if you do all this and still problem, take the carb off, and try another carb.
also try another spark plug, like an RJ19LM. it runs a little hotter and a bad plug will shut 'er right down for no apparent reason, like an off switch