Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
654 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While snow blowing the EOD, I have had many close calls with vehicles. I now wear reflective clothing similar to this. I also have refelctive tape on the machine . When I have time , I will be adding led running lights to the machine.

·
Premium Member
354 Posts
Ditto. Never too much visibility near the street and around town. I wear the same and have reflective tape everywhere its practical. My truck is usually at the street where I unload with an amber strobe light on the roof and 4 ways on. Ive been doing commercial for many years now and like you I have had some close calls. Can be down right scary out there.
Ive been looking at ways to add strobes on the blower but have not found a way that it would work without shining in my face.

·
Registered
402 Posts
moving to a house on a busy street has defiantly got me thinking about getting something like this especially when get the snoblower going on the tractor I'm thinking about getting some strobe lights for it.

·
Premium Member
1,686 Posts
Our road is rural so the cars are usually going by "fast" and while blowing about a week ago I was reminded of the risk.

I was about half-way down the main run of our driveway so I was still over 100 yrd's from the road when I saw a SUV start to slide and end up going into the ditch almost right across from the end of our driveway. That's been my biggest concern while down there, someone losing control and taking me out so I always stop and watch as cars pass by.

What I wear when down there is one of those yellow, mesh, vests with reflective stripes, the same style our youngest son wears while working as an Electrical Lineman, although his is FR (Fire Resistant.) They are lightweight, easy to put on and take off over my snow blowing coat and costs under $10. On top of that they dry off fast........