Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all:
I am first time home owner and hence new to this snow blowing etc. After reading much reviews I went ahead and bought an Ariens Deluxe 28 from a local store. It was working just fine until a few hours ago. I filled the tank with gas and checked the oil level. It was working just fine and all of a sudden it turned off and its just not starting no matter how many times I prime it and crank it up. I am a total noob when it comes to machine and hence have no clue what is happening. I read online to check and clean the governor/carburetor. Where do I find it on the machine and how to clean it? If a little bit of water has went in the gas tank, how do I get rid of it? I am hoping to have it ready at least by tomorrow to clear out rest of the snow, having shoveled my 6 car driveway has taken its toll on my back:). Your patience and help is highly appreciated here.

Cheers!
Ramaka.

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
No offrnse, but it you don't know where the carburetor is, then I don't think that cleaning it would be in your capabilities. If you are sure that that you got some gas in the fuel tank, since it is heavier than gasoline, it would have gotten fed into your carb pretty quick. Can you call your "local store" - probably a National Chain like H-D, and see if they will help you out. If it is really a local store, then they most likely will come out to your house and get you going. What you have to do is shut off the gas shut-off lever, and then drain the water out of the carb bowl, or you can try putting a little dry gas in your fuel tank - but "little" is dependent upon how much gas is in your tank - they dry gas can will tell you the correct ratio. Another idea idea is to get some starting ether an spray it into the box by the choke, and that may get it running enough to push the water through the engine, and get it running on gasoline.

Good luck, and report back !

·
Registered