Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have the instructions for removing the right hand track wheel in order to access the two grease fittings in there? My book says refer to the service manual. I didn't get one of those

Thanks

·
Registered
994 Posts
Does anyone have the instructions for removing the right hand track wheel in order to access the two grease fittings in there? My book says refer to the service manual. I didn't get one of those

Thanks
The Rapidtrack drive wheel retention appears to be the same as the wheel drive snap clip. The service manual can be seen here: https://apache.ariens.com/manuals/05136630B.pdf and the procedure you need is on page 61.

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
These wheels are relatively easy to remove after you do it the first time. I'm not an engineer, but it would seem a better method for lubing the shafts could have been maybe been engineered in? I removed the adjuster bar and and entire track assembly once I started into it.

This machine has seen about 200 inches of snow total over 2 winters. Not much. We're out of here in early January. Last year when brand new, I probably had about 5-6 hours total and didn't pull the wheels in the spring when I 'summerized' it. Might of had maybe 7-8 hours this past winter. The shafts were bone dry and starting to rust. I have my doubts they ever had grease from the factory? At any rate, pretty simple job and necessary to do. Make sure to get the shaft keys back in place when reinstalling the wheels