Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All,

I received a free Ariens ST724 (924075) Snowblower last year from my elderly neighbor (in return to clear his driveway). The engine still runs strong, started first pull today when I went out to take pictures of the problem. Late winter, the snowblower stopped moving occasionally when in gear (forward or reverse). The wheels would lock up, and began getting worse.

The problem looks like the entire axle has play, able to move back and forth, and the gears attached to the axle get misaligned, causing the bind. I imagine the problem came about from making to sharp of turns when lining up to take the next pass of snow, and caused too much strain and wear on the parts.

Below are images/video of the problem, as well as a link to the manual. I'm not a mechanic, but love DIY activities. I would appreciate any insight into the problem, and help locating the parts to be able to fix this

Thanks!

Repair Manual - http://apache.ariens.com/manuals/000123A.pdf

Video Link :

·
Retired Moderator
4,160 Posts
That doesn't look like a terrible amount of play, but new bushings on the axle should be the first step. You might need new bushings on the sprocket/gear where the chain is too. My old 78 Ariens had the bushings on that sprocket causing problems like that. There might also be a nut on each side of that chain sprocket gear that will allow you to slide it back and forth. I think it is mainly for tightening the chain, but it might also let you move it closer to the axle. If you were using it like that you might have also worn down both gears too far for new bushings to work, though the gears still look to be in good shape.

·
Registered
137 Posts