Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a John Deere 1032 snowblower and I have an issue with my auger drive pulley and/or my impeller shaft. When I engage my auger, everything works, however, my auger drive pulley shifts toward the engine about 3/4" and rubs on my auger idler pulley rod (sparking metal on metal). When it is not running, there is some "play" in the whole impeller shaft as it can slide back and forth about 1". Any ideas on what is causing this, is it normal?
Thanks,
Corey

·
Retired Moderator
4,160 Posts
Yea, sounds like the bushings / shims that are inside the gearbox up front are worn out and allowing the movement of the impeller shaft.

As a temporary fix, you may be able to fit some washers behind the impeller to help hold it in place, however, at that point you are already half way into taking the gear box apart.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the advice. Just to confirm (I'm a novice), will I need to remove the auger pulley and the whole auger assembly (including impeller shaft to access the gearbox to investigate?
Corey

·
Retired Moderator
4,160 Posts
Yes, you must remove the front bucket from the machine, then remove the pulley, then pull the whole auger/impeller assembly out of the front of the bucket. Most times the hardest part it getting the impeller pulley off the shaft as the rust usually holds on quite well.

This guy has some gearbox rebuild videos on his youtube channel if you search. Most of them are MTD, but it is the same basic process.
https://www.youtube.com/user/donyboy73

It can be difficult to find parts for JD blowers though.